Jake Tech Lab

Bitwarden vs LastPass

Bitwarden comes out ahead of LastPass on 5 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

BitwardenWinner
Bitwarden
7.4
Good
5 of 6 rounds
vs
LastPass
LastPass
6.4
Fair
0 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Bitwarden takes it, 5–0 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Bitwarden takes 5 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Bitwarden if…

  • • You want Bitwarden's edge on what customers say on trustpilot and what one person pays

Choose LastPass if…

  • • You have a reason to pick LastPass that is not on this list

Round by round

  1. Round 1What customers say on TrustpilotBitwarden wins
    Bitwarden8/10

    3.2 out of 5

    TrustScore from 365 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    LastPass5/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 934 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.2 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Bitwarden wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2Trying it before you payTie
    Bitwarden7/10

    Free plan

    a free account with unlimited passwords and devices

    Source: bitwarden.com ↗

    LastPass7/10

    Free plan

    free for one device type

    Source: security.org ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

  3. Round 3What one person paysBitwarden wins
    Bitwarden8/10

    $1.65/mo, billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: bitwarden.com ↗

    LastPass5/10

    $3.00/mo, billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $1.65/mo, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Bitwarden wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4What the family plan costsBitwarden wins
    Bitwarden8/10

    $3.99/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: bitwarden.com ↗

    LastPass5/10

    $4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    • $4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually, against $3.99/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Bitwarden wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5How much file storage you getBitwarden wins
    Bitwarden8/10

    5 GB

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: bitwarden.com ↗

    LastPass5/10

    Not stated

    LastPass's 1 GB file storage is only in a collapsed comparison table that does not render on screen

    • 1 GB, against 5 GB

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Bitwarden wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6Devices on the free planBitwarden wins
    Bitwarden8/10

    Unlimited devices

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: bitwarden.com ↗

    LastPass5/10

    1 device type only

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    • 1 device type only, against Unlimited devices

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Bitwarden wins this round on what the published sources say.

BitwardenBitwarden
LastPassLastPass

Side by side

Overall score
7.4
Best
6.4
Price
See price
See price
What the family plan costs
7.0
6.5
What one person pays
8.0
6.0
What customers say on Trustpilot
6.3
5.0
How many people the family plan covers
7.2
7.2
Trying it before you pay
7.5
7.4
Head-to-head findings
What the family plan costs
$47.88
$4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually
What one person pays
$19.80
$3.00/mo, billed annually
What customers say on Trustpilot
3.2 out of 5
1.4 out of 5
How many people the family plan covers
6 users
6 users
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
Free plan
Warnings when your data leaks
Exposed-password reports
Dark web monitoring
How much file storage you get
5 GB
Not stated
What each family member costs
$7.98
—
Record
Head-to-head record
4–0–2
3–3
Head-to-heads won
100 %
50 %
Rounds won
72 %
33 %
Pros
    • Premium / Families, billed annually
    Cons
    • 3.2 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5
    • 6 users, against 10 members
    • 3.2 out of 5, against 4 out of 5
    • $3.99/mo (6 users), billed annually, against $3.69/mo (6 users), 1-year plan
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5
    • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $2.99/mo, billed yearly
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.2 out of 5
    • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $1.65/mo, billed annually
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More password managers match-ups