Jake Tech Lab

Updated October 2026 · 10 compared

The best POS systems, ranked.

10 POS systems compared across 40 head-to-heads.

Every matchup is scored round by round on what matters most: what the software costs, what customers say on trustpilot, who picks up when the till is down, how long you are locked in.

  1. 1ToastToast7.2
  2. 2SquareSquare6.8
  3. 3PayPal ZettlePayPal Zettle6.7

At a glance

Top 10 POS systems

Ranked by overall score

1Toast
Top rated

Toast

Pick Toast if you want Toast's edge on who picks up when the till is down and what it costs to get a card reader.

What the software costs
Starter Kit from $0/mo
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.7 out of 5
Who picks up when the till is down
24/7 support
How long you are locked in
2 to 3 years
    • 2 to 3 years, against No contract
    • 2.7 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
    • 2-year agreement (Pay-as-you-Go), against Cancel anytime
    • 2 to 3 years, against 12 months
    2Square
    Best for what the software costs

    Square

    Pick Square if you want Square's edge on how long you are locked in and what customers say on trustpilot.

    What the software costs
    $0/mo (Square Free)
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    3.7 out of 5
    Who picks up when the till is down
    weekday hours on the free plan
    How long you are locked in
    No contract
    • Square Free ($0/mo per location); trial = Square Plus
    • in-person card sale
    • weekday hours on the free plan, against 24/7 support
    • Reader from $59, against $0 upfront for first device
    • Premium $149/mo, against Point of Sale from $69/mo
    • weekday hours on the free plan, against 24/7 phone support
    3PayPal Zettle

    Pick PayPal Zettle if you want PayPal Zettle's edge on what each card sale costs and who picks up when the till is down.

    What the software costs
    $0
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    1.4 out of 5
    Who picks up when the till is down
    9:00 am - 5:00 pm on weekdays (no timezone)
    How long you are locked in
    No contract
    • every day, phone and online chat
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
    • Only via third-party SDK apps, against Offline payments on every plan
    • phone and chat 6am to 6pm PT daily, against 24/7 support
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.7 out of 5
    4SumUp
    Best for what customers say on trustpilot

    SumUp

    Pick SumUp if you want SumUp's edge on who picks up when the till is down and what customers say on trustpilot.

    What the software costs
    $199
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    4.2 out of 5
    Who picks up when the till is down
    phone daily 9am to 9pm ET
    How long you are locked in
    12 months
      • $199, against $0
      • 12 months, against No contract
      • phone daily 9am to 9pm ET, against 24/7 support
      • SumUp Plus reader $54, against $0 upfront for first device
      5TouchBistro

      Pick TouchBistro if you want TouchBistro's edge on who picks up when the till is down and what the top plan costs.

      What the software costs
      $69
      What customers say on Trustpilot
      1.5 out of 5
      Who picks up when the till is down
      24/7 support
      How long you are locked in
      variable Initial Term per Sales Quote, auto-renews for an equivalent period
      • annual contracts that auto-renew, no month-to-month
      • $69, against $0
      • 1 year, against No contract
      • 1.5 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
      • Inventory is a paid add-on, against Inventory tracking in Free plan
      6Lightspeed
      Best for who picks up when the till is down

      Lightspeed

      Pick Lightspeed if you want Lightspeed's edge on who picks up when the till is down.

      What the software costs
      $89
      What customers say on Trustpilot
      3.7 out of 5
      Who picks up when the till is down
      24/7 phone and chat support
      Head-to-head record
      3–4–2
      • included with all plans
      • $89, against $0
      • 3.6 out of 5, against 4.6 out of 5
      • 14-day free trial, against 30-day trial of Square Plus
      • Plus $289/mo, billed annually, against Premium $149/mo
      7Clover

      Pick Clover if you want Clover's edge on who picks up when the till is down and trying it before you pay.

      What the software costs
      $29.95/mo
      What customers say on Trustpilot
      1.9 out of 5
      Who picks up when the till is down
      24/7 phone support
      How long you are locked in
      36 months
      • the cheapest plan, per month; it varies by reseller
      • $14.95, against $0
      • $199, against $59
      • 36 months, against No contract
      • 1.9 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
      8Epos Now

      Pick Epos Now if you want Epos Now's edge on what customers say on trustpilot.

      What the software costs
      $39
      What customers say on Trustpilot
      4.3 out of 5
      Who picks up when the till is down
      9am-6pm; 24/7 is paid package
      How long you are locked in
      1 to 5 years
        • $39, against $0
        • $349, against $59
        • 1 to 5 years, against No contract
        • 7.5 out of 10, against 9 out of 10
        9Shopify POS

        Pick Shopify POS if you want Shopify POS's edge on who picks up when the till is down and what it costs to get a card reader.

        What the software costs
        Basic $39/mo
        What customers say on Trustpilot
        1.3 out of 5
        Who picks up when the till is down
        24/7 customer support
        How long you are locked in
        Cancel anytime
          • 3-day free trial, against Free plan
          • 1.3 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
          • Basic $39/mo, against $0/mo (Square Free)
          • Inventory needs POS Pro (+$89/mo), against Inventory tracking in Free plan
          10Shift4

          Pick Shift4 if you want Shift4's edge on what it costs to get a card reader and who picks up when the till is down.

          What the software costs
          $29.99/month
          What customers say on Trustpilot
          1.4 out of 5
          Who picks up when the till is down
          24/7/365 support
          How long you are locked in
          Not stated
          • the cheapest plan, per month
          • $99, against $0
          • 3 years, against No contract
          • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
          • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 15¢ in person

          Compare every spec

          Sort any column, tick products to go head-to-head · hover the edges or drag to see more

          best in column · tick up to 4 to compare
          1ToastToastScore 7.2Starter Kit from $0/mo2.7 out of 524/7 support2 to 3 years$0 upfront for first devicePoint of Sale from $69/mo—Offline mode takes cards9–0100 %58 %
          2SquareSquareScore 6.8$0/mo (Square Free)3.7 out of 5weekday hours on the free planNo contractReader from $59Premium $149/mo2.6% + 15¢Offline payments on every plan6–367 %53 %
          3PayPal ZettlePayPal ZettleScore 6.7$01.4 out of 59:00 am - 5:00 pm on weekdays (no timezone)No contract$29—2.29% + 9¢Only via third-party SDK apps4–267 %49 %
          4SumUpSumUpScore 6.6$1994.2 out of 5phone daily 9am to 9pm ET12 monthsSumUp Plus reader $54SumUp POS from $99/mo2.6% + 10¢Offline mode (Solo reader)2–2–550 %39 %
          5TouchBistroTouchBistroScore 6.6$691.5 out of 524/7 supportvariable Initial Term per Sales Quote, auto-renews for an equivalent period—Essentials Bundle from $119/mo—Offline payments2–3–240 %33 %
          6LightspeedLightspeedScore 6.6$893.7 out of 524/7 phone and chat support——Plus $289/mo, billed annually2.6% + 10¢Offline selling mode3–4–243 %37 %
          7CloverCloverScore 6.6$29.95/mo1.9 out of 524/7 phone support36 months$199Services Growth $84.95/mo2.6% + 10¢ in person (Starter)Offline payments up to 7 days4–4–150 %41 %
          8Epos NowEpos NowScore 6.5$394.3 out of 59am-6pm; 24/7 is paid package1 to 5 years$399—2.6% + 10¢ per cardOffline mode2–3–140 %32 %
          9Shopify POSShopify POSScore 6.2Basic $39/mo1.3 out of 524/7 customer supportCancel anytime$49Advanced $399/mo2.6% + 10¢ in personOffline card payments1–811 %28 %
          10Shift4Shift4Score 6.1$29.99/month1.4 out of 524/7/365 supportNot stated$0 upfront (reader in bundle)—2.75% + 15¢ standard rateTakes cards offline1–5–117 %21 %

          Popular head-to-heads

          40 round-by-round comparisons — here are the top-ranked match-ups

          Build your own comparison →

          How these are scored: our ranking method. We may earn a commission from links on this page — disclosure.