Jake Tech Lab

Updated October 2026 · 10 compared

The best project management tools, ranked.

10 project management tools compared across 40 head-to-heads.

Every matchup is scored round by round on what matters most: what it costs to start, what the top plan costs, what customers say on trustpilot, how much storage you get.

  1. 1ClickUpClickUp7.6
  2. 2NotionNotion7.0
  3. 3TrelloTrello6.9

At a glance

Top 10 project management tools

Ranked by overall score

1ClickUp
Top rated

ClickUp

Pick ClickUp if you want ClickUp's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs.

What it costs to start
$7
What the top plan costs
$12
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.2 out of 5
How much storage you get
Unlimited storage
  • 60 MB storage, 5 spaces and 100 automation runs
  • 1,000 automation runs a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 4.6 out of 5, against 4.7 out of 5
  • 4.3 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5
  • $7, against $5
2Notion

Pick Notion if you want Notion's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs.

What it costs to start
$10
What the top plan costs
$20
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.2 out of 5
How much storage you get
Unlimited file uploads
  • Business, per member per month
  • $10, against $9
  • 4.4 out of 5, against 4.5 out of 5
  • $10, against $7
  • $20, against $12
3Trello
Best for what it costs to start

Trello

Pick Trello if you want Trello's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs.

What it costs to start
$5
What the top plan costs
$10
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.2 out of 5
How much storage you get
Unlimited (250 MB per file)
  • up to 10 collaborators and 10 boards per workspace
  • Premium, per user per month billed annually ($12.50 monthly)
  • Timeline is Premium-only, against Timeline and Gantt views
  • 1,000 command runs a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 4.3 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5
  • Local business hours support, against 24/7 customer support
4Jira
Best for what the top plan costs

Jira

Pick Jira if you want Jira's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs.

What it costs to start
$7.91/user/mo billed monthly
What the top plan costs
Premium $14.54/user/mo billed monthly
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.2 out of 5
How much storage you get
250 GB storage
  • Standard, per user per month
  • 1.2 out of 5, against 1.4 out of 5
  • Save up to 17% yearly, against Save up to 18% yearly
  • 250 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • 400 steps per user a month, against Unlimited automations
5Asana

Pick Asana if you want Asana's edge on how much storage you get and planning on a timeline.

What it costs to start
$10.99
What the top plan costs
$24.99
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.4 out of 5
How much storage you get
Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • Advanced, per user per month billed annually
  • $10.99, against $9
  • $24.99, against $19
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
  • $10.99, against $7
6monday.com

Pick monday.com if you want monday.com's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs.

What it costs to start
$9
What the top plan costs
$19
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.1 out of 5
How much storage you get
5 GB storage
    • 5 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • Gantt starts on Standard, against Timeline and Gantt views
    • Automations start on Standard, against Unlimited automations
    • $9, against $7
    7Basecamp

    Pick Basecamp if you want Basecamp's edge on how big the free plan is and who picks up when you are stuck.

    What it costs to start
    $25/mo flat, up to 20 users
    What the top plan costs
    $299/mo flat, billed annually
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    2.1 out of 5
    How much storage you get
    5 GB storage
    • included on the Freelancer plan
    • $25/mo flat, up to 20 users, against $10.99/user/mo billed annually
    • $299/mo flat, billed annually, against Advanced $24.99/user/mo billed annually
    • 5 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • $25/mo flat, up to 20 users, against $9/seat/mo billed annually
    8Wrike
    Best for what customers say on trustpilot

    Wrike

    Pick Wrike if you want Wrike's edge on what it costs to start and what customers say on trustpilot.

    What it costs to start
    $10
    What the top plan costs
    $25
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    3.3 out of 5
    How much storage you get
    2 GB per user
    • Business, per user per month billed annually, for 5 to 200 users
    • 2 GB per user, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • 50 actions per seat a month, against Unlimited automations
    • $10, against $9
    • $25, against $19
    9Airtable

    Pick Airtable if you want Airtable's edge on what customers say on trustpilot and how big the free plan is.

    What it costs to start
    $20
    What the top plan costs
    $45
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    1.9 out of 5
    How much storage you get
    20 GB per base
    • free to teams at no charge; limits not shown
    • $20, against $10.99
    • $45, against $24.99
    • 20 GB per base, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • 25,000 automation runs, against Unlimited automations
    10Smartsheet

    Pick Smartsheet if you want Smartsheet's edge on what it costs to start and who picks up when you are stuck.

    What it costs to start
    $9
    What the top plan costs
    Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
    What customers say on Trustpilot
    1.2
    How much storage you get
    Not stated
    • Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
    • 30-day free trial, against Free plan
    • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • 250 automations a month, against Unlimited automations
    • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5

    Compare every spec

    Sort any column, tick products to go head-to-head · hover the edges or drag to see more

    best in column · tick up to 4 to compare
    1ClickUpClickUpScore 7.6$7$124.2 out of 5Unlimited storage1,000 automation runs a monthUnlimited free membersFree Forever plan24/7 support on the free plan9–0100 %84 %
    2NotionNotionScore 7.0$10$202.2 out of 5Unlimited file uploads——Free plan—6–2–175 %55 %
    3TrelloTrelloScore 6.9$5$102.2 out of 5Unlimited (250 MB per file)1,000 command runs a month10 collaboratorsFree planLocal business hours support7–1–188 %59 %
    4JiraJiraScore 6.4$7.91/user/mo billed monthlyPremium $14.54/user/mo billed monthly1.2 out of 5250 GB storage400 steps per user a monthFree for 10 users14-day Standard trial9/5 regional support only5–456 %47 %
    5AsanaAsanaScore 6.3$10.99$24.991.4 out of 5Unlimited (100 MB per file)Unlimited automations2 users on PersonalFree planNot stated2–4–333 %37 %
    6monday.commonday.comScore 6.3$9$192.1 out of 55 GB storageAutomations start on StandardUp to 2 seatsFree plan24/7 customer support2–5–229 %33 %
    7BasecampBasecampScore 6.2$25/mo flat, up to 20 users$299/mo flat, billed annually2.1 out of 55 GB storage—5 usersFree plan24/7/365 support (Studio plan)0–5–10 %25 %
    8WrikeWrikeScore 6.2$10$253.3 out of 52 GB per user50 actions per seat a monthUnlimited usersFree plan—2–529 %33 %
    9AirtableAirtableScore 6.0$20$451.9 out of 520 GB per base25,000 automation runsUp to 5 editors1,000 records per base—1–517 %27 %
    10SmartsheetSmartsheetScore 5.9$9Business $19/member/mo billed yearly1.2Not stated250 automations a month—30-day free trialWeb ticketing and community1–4–220 %30 %

    Popular head-to-heads

    40 round-by-round comparisons — here are the top-ranked match-ups

    Build your own comparison →

    How these are scored: our ranking method. We may earn a commission from links on this page — disclosure.