Jake Tech Lab

RunPod vs Paperspace

RunPod comes out ahead of Paperspace on 6 of the 7 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

RunPodWinner
RunPod
7.4
Good
6 of 7 rounds
vs
Paperspace
Paperspace
6.2
Fair
1 of 7 rounds

The verdict

RunPod takes it, 6–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, RunPod takes 6 of 7 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose RunPod if…

  • • You want RunPod's edge on the cheapest h100 and the cheapest a100

Choose Paperspace if…

  • • You want Paperspace's edge on how cheap you can start

Round by round

  1. Round 1The cheapest H100RunPod wins
    RunPod8/10

    $1.99

    H100 PCIe on Community Cloud ($2.89 on Secure Cloud)

    Source: runpod.io ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    $5.95

    single H100 machine, per hour

    • $5.95, against $1.99

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    RunPod wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2The cheapest A100RunPod wins
    RunPod8/10

    $1.19

    A100 PCIe on Community Cloud ($1.59 on Secure Cloud)

    Source: runpod.io ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    $1.15 (3-year commitment)

    Compute Usage pricing > Dedicated GPUs. Footnote: '$1.15/hour pricing is for a 3-year commitment'.

    • $3.09, against $1.19

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    RunPod wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3How cheap you can startPaperspace wins
    RunPod5/10

    $0.16/hr

    Community Cloud pods; cheapest listed GPU

    • $0.34, against Free GPU notebooks

    Source: runpod.io ↗

    Paperspace8/10

    Free GPU notebooks

    a free GPU (M4000) for notebooks in private workspaces only

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    Paperspace wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4How many places it runsRunPod wins
    RunPod8/10

    31 regions

    regions it runs in

    Source: runpod.io ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    3 data centers

    Secaucus, Santa Clara and Amsterdam

    • 3 data centers, against 31 regions

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    RunPod wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5How precisely you are billedRunPod wins
    RunPod8/10

    Billed by the second

    all GPU rentals, with no contracts or minimums

    Source: runpod.io ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    Not stated

    Paperspace's pricing FAQ says billing runs monthly; no billing increment is stated

    • Billed by the hour, against Billed by the second

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    RunPod wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  6. Round 6What customers say on TrustpilotRunPod wins
    RunPod8/10

    3.8 out of 5

    TrustScore from 315 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 97 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.5 out of 5, against 3.8 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    RunPod wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  7. Round 7What storage costs per monthRunPod wins
    RunPod8/10

    $0.07/GB-mo (network volume)

    Pods on-demand (price shown on pricing page)

    Source: runpod.io ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    $0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes)

    DigitalOcean GPU Droplets on-demand (Paperspace is part of DigitalOcean)

    • $0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes), against $0.07/GB-mo (network volume)

    Source: digitalocean.com ↗

    RunPod wins this round on what the published sources say.

PaperspacePaperspace

Side by side

Overall score
7.4
Best
6.2
Price
See price
See price
The cheapest H100
7.6
6.0
The cheapest A100
7.6
6.0
What it costs to get your data out
7.8
7.8
How many places it runs
6.0
5.0
How cheap you can start
6.8
8.0
Head-to-head findings
The cheapest H100
$1.99
$5.95
The cheapest A100
$1.19
$1.15 (3-year commitment)
What it costs to get your data out
No egress fees
No ingress or egress charges
How many places it runs
31 regions
3 data centers
How cheap you can start
$0.34/hr
Free GPU notebooks
What customers say on Trustpilot
3.8 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
How precisely you are billed
Billed by the second
Not stated
What storage costs per month
$0.07/GB-mo (network volume)
$0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes)
Record
Head-to-head record
7–1
2–4
Head-to-heads won
88 %
33 %
Rounds won
77 %
33 %
Pros
  • H100 PCIe on Community Cloud ($2.89 on Secure Cloud)
  • A100 PCIe on Community Cloud ($1.59 on Secure Cloud)
  • single A100 machine, per hour
Cons
  • $1.99, against $0.90
  • $1.19, against $0.35
  • $0.34, against $0.13
  • 31 regions, against 500+ locations
  • $5.95, against $1.99
  • $3.09, against $1.19
  • 3 data centers, against 31 regions
  • Billed by the hour, against Billed by the second
Add a third option to this comparison →

More cloud GPU providers match-ups