Jake Tech Lab

Vast.ai vs Paperspace

Vast.ai comes out ahead of Paperspace on 5 of the 7 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Vast.aiWinner
Vast.ai
7.2
Good
5 of 7 rounds
vs
Paperspace
Paperspace
6.2
Fair
2 of 7 rounds

The verdict

Vast.ai takes it, 5–2 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Vast.ai takes 5 of 7 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Vast.ai if…

  • • You want Vast.ai's edge on the cheapest h100 and the cheapest a100

Choose Paperspace if…

  • • You want Paperspace's edge on how cheap you can start and what it costs to get your data out

Round by round

  1. Round 1The cheapest H100Vast.ai wins
    Vast.ai8/10

    $1.48/hr

    H100 SXM price

    • the lowest H100 offer on the marketplace (offers seen ran from about $2 to $19)

    Source: vast.ai ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    $5.95

    single H100 machine, per hour

    • $5.95, against $0.90

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    Vast.ai wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2The cheapest A100Vast.ai wins
    Vast.ai8/10

    $0.37/hr

    A100 PCIe GPU price

    • the lowest A100 PCIe offer on the marketplace

    Source: vast.ai ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    $1.15 (3-year commitment)

    Compute Usage pricing > Dedicated GPUs. Footnote: '$1.15/hour pricing is for a 3-year commitment'.

    • $3.09, against $0.35

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    Vast.ai wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3How cheap you can startPaperspace wins
    Vast.ai5/10

    $0.02/hr

    On-demand rate, GTX 1660 S — lowest of all listed GPUs (Tesla P100 from $0.03/hr, RTX A2000 from $0.03/hr)

    • $0.13, against Free GPU notebooks

    Source: vast.ai ↗

    Paperspace8/10

    Free GPU notebooks

    a free GPU (M4000) for notebooks in private workspaces only

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    Paperspace wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4What it costs to get your data outPaperspace wins
    Vast.ai5/10

    Bandwidth charged both ways

    billed per byte sent or received, at rates that vary by host

    • Bandwidth charged both ways, against No ingress or egress charges

    Source: docs.vast.ai ↗

    Paperspace8/10

    No ingress or egress charges

    no charge for bandwidth on Paperspace Machines

    Source: docs.digitalocean.com ↗

    Paperspace wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5How many places it runsVast.ai wins
    Vast.ai8/10

    40+ data centers

    Marketplace coverage wording: 'Prices set by supply and demand across 40+ data centers.' Homepage also says 'On-demand instances across 40+ data centers and 20,000+ GPUs.'

    • host locations on a marketplace, not data-center regions

    Source: vast.ai ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    3 data centers

    Secaucus, Santa Clara and Amsterdam

    • 3 data centers, against 500+ locations

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    Vast.ai wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  6. Round 6How precisely you are billedVast.ai wins
    Vast.ai8/10

    Per-second billing

    at raw marketplace rates

    Source: vast.ai ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    Not stated

    Paperspace's pricing FAQ says billing runs monthly; no billing increment is stated

    • Billed by the hour, against Per-second billing

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    Vast.ai wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  7. Round 7What customers say on TrustpilotVast.ai wins
    Vast.ai8/10

    4.1 out of 5

    TrustScore from 232 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Paperspace5/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 97 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.5 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Vast.ai wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

PaperspacePaperspace

Side by side

Vast.aiBest for the cheapest h100Vast.ai
Overall score
7.2
Best
6.2
Price
See price
See price
The cheapest H100
8.0
6.0
The cheapest A100
8.0
6.0
What it costs to get your data out
5.3
7.8
How many places it runs
8.0
5.0
How cheap you can start
7.4
8.0
Head-to-head findings
The cheapest H100
$1.73
$5.95
The cheapest A100
$0.37/hr
$1.15 (3-year commitment)
What it costs to get your data out
Bandwidth charged both ways
No ingress or egress charges
How many places it runs
40+
3 data centers
How cheap you can start
$0.11/hr
Free GPU notebooks
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.1 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
How precisely you are billed
Per-second billing
Not stated
What storage costs per month
—
$0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes)
Record
Head-to-head record
8–0
2–4
Head-to-heads won
100 %
33 %
Rounds won
65 %
33 %
Pros
  • the lowest H100 offer on the marketplace (offers seen ran from about $2 to $19)
  • the lowest A100 PCIe offer on the marketplace
  • the lowest rate on the marketplace, for consumer GPUs
  • host locations on a marketplace, not data-center regions
  • single A100 machine, per hour
Cons
  • Bandwidth charged both ways, against No egress fees
  • Bandwidth charged both ways, against Free
  • Up to 50% off, against Up to 60% off
  • $0.13, against Free GPU notebooks
  • $5.95, against $1.99
  • $3.09, against $1.19
  • 3 data centers, against 31 regions
  • Billed by the hour, against Billed by the second
Add a third option to this comparison →

More cloud GPU providers match-ups