Jake Tech Lab

LastPass vs Dashlane

LastPass comes out ahead of Dashlane on 3 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

LastPassWinner
LastPass
6.4
Fair
3 of 6 rounds
vs
Dashlane
Dashlane
5.9
Weak
2 of 6 rounds

The verdict

LastPass takes it, 3–2 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, LastPass takes 3 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose LastPass if…

  • • You want LastPass's edge on what one person pays and what the family plan costs

Choose Dashlane if…

  • • You want Dashlane's edge on what customers say on trustpilot and how many people the family plan covers

Round by round

  1. Round 1What customers say on TrustpilotDashlane wins
    LastPass5/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 934 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Dashlane8/10

    2.7 out of 5

    TrustScore from 6,132 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Dashlane wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2What one person paysLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    $3.00/mo, billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Dashlane5/10

    $5.42/mo, billed annually

    Premium / Friends & Family, billed annually

    • $5.42/mo, billed annually, against $3.00/mo, billed annually

    Source: dashlane.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  3. Round 3What the family plan costsLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    $4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Dashlane5/10

    $8.13/mo (10 members), billed annually

    Premium / Friends & Family, billed annually

    • $8.13/mo (10 members), billed annually, against $4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Source: dashlane.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4Trying it before you payLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    Free plan

    LastPass Free plan (paid plans add a 30-day Premium trial)

    • Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Dashlane5/10

    14-day free trial

    Premium / Friends & Family, billed annually

    • 14-day free trial, against Free plan

    Source: dashlane.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5How many people the family plan coversDashlane wins
    LastPass5/10

    6 users

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    • 6 users, against 10 members

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Dashlane8/10

    10 members

    Premium / Friends & Family, billed annually

    Source: dashlane.com ↗

    Dashlane wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6How much file storage you getTie
    LastPass7/10

    Not stated

    LastPass's 1 GB file storage is only in a collapsed comparison table that does not render on screen

    • Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Dashlane7/10

    1 GB

    Premium / Friends & Family, billed annually

    Source: dashlane.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

LastPassLastPass
DashlaneDashlane

Side by side

Overall score
6.4
Best
5.9
Price
See price
See price
What the family plan costs
6.5
5.0
What one person pays
6.0
5.0
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.0
5.5
How many people the family plan covers
7.2
8.0
Trying it before you pay
7.4
5.3
Head-to-head findings
What the family plan costs
$4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually
$8.13 per month
What one person pays
$3.00/mo, billed annually
$5.42/mo, billed annually
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.4 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
How many people the family plan covers
6 users
10 members
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
14-day free trial
Warnings when your data leaks
Dark web monitoring
Dark Web Monitoring
How much file storage you get
Not stated
1 GB
What each family member costs
—
$8.13
Record
Head-to-head record
3–3
0–6
Head-to-heads won
50 %
0 %
Rounds won
33 %
26 %
Pros
  • Premium / Families, billed annually
  • Family $89.88 a year across 10 people
Cons
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5
  • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $2.99/mo, billed yearly
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.2 out of 5
  • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $1.65/mo, billed annually
  • $89.88, against $71.88
  • 2.7 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5
  • $5.42/mo, billed annually, against $2.99/mo, billed yearly
  • $89.88, against $47.88
Add a third option to this comparison →

More password managers match-ups