Jake Tech Lab

Paperspace vs AWS

AWS comes out ahead of Paperspace on 5 of the 8 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Paperspace
Paperspace
6.2
Fair
3 of 8 rounds
vs
AWSWinner
AWS
6.3
Fair
5 of 8 rounds

The verdict

AWS takes it, 5–3 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, AWS takes 5 of 8 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Paperspace if…

  • • You want Paperspace's edge on what it costs to get your data out and what customers say on trustpilot

Choose AWS if…

  • • You want AWS's edge on the cheapest h100 and the cheapest a100

Round by round

  1. Round 1The cheapest H100AWS wins
    Paperspace5/10

    $5.95

    single H100 machine, per hour

    • $5.95, against $5.19

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    AWS8/10

    $6.88

    p5.48xlarge $55.04/hr for 8x H100 = $6.88 per GPU-hour, on-demand, US East

    • worked out from $41.528 an hour for a p5.48xlarge with eight H100s, US regions

    Source: aws.amazon.com ↗

    AWS wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2The cheapest A100AWS wins
    Paperspace5/10

    $1.15 (3-year commitment)

    Compute Usage pricing > Dedicated GPUs. Footnote: '$1.15/hour pricing is for a 3-year commitment'.

    • $3.09, against $2.74

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    AWS8/10

    $2.74

    worked out from $21.958 an hour for a p4d.24xlarge with eight A100s

    Source: instances.vantage.sh ↗

    AWS wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3What it costs to get your data outPaperspace wins
    Paperspace8/10

    No ingress or egress charges

    no charge for bandwidth on Paperspace Machines

    Source: docs.digitalocean.com ↗

    AWS5/10

    First 100 GB free, then $0.09 per GB

    data transfer out to the internet

    • First 100 GB free, then $0.09 per GB, against No ingress or egress charges

    Source: aws.amazon.com ↗

    Paperspace wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4How many places it runsAWS wins
    Paperspace5/10

    3 data centers

    Secaucus, Santa Clara and Amsterdam

    • 3 data centers, against 34 regions

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    AWS8/10

    39

    Geographic Regions

    • AWS Regions

    Source: aws.amazon.com ↗

    AWS wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5How precisely you are billedAWS wins
    Paperspace5/10

    Not stated

    Paperspace's pricing FAQ says billing runs monthly; no billing increment is stated

    • Billed by the hour, against Per-second, 60-second minimum

    Source: paperspace.com ↗

    AWS8/10

    Per-second, 60-second minimum

    on-demand instances are billed by the hour or second

    Source: aws.amazon.com ↗

    AWS wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  6. Round 6What customers say on TrustpilotPaperspace wins
    Paperspace8/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 97 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    AWS5/10

    1.3 out of 5

    TrustScore from 429 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.3 out of 5, against 1.5 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Paperspace wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  7. Round 7The cheapest L40SPaperspace wins
    Paperspace8/10

    $1.57/GPU-hr

    DigitalOcean GPU Droplets on-demand (Paperspace is part of DigitalOcean)

    Source: digitalocean.com ↗

    AWS5/10

    $1.86/hr (g6e.xlarge)

    EC2 on-demand, US East (N. Virginia), Linux

    • $1.86/hr (g6e.xlarge), against $1.57/GPU-hr

    Source: aws.amazon.com ↗

    Paperspace wins this round on what the published sources say.

  8. Round 8What storage costs per monthAWS wins
    Paperspace5/10

    $0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes)

    DigitalOcean GPU Droplets on-demand (Paperspace is part of DigitalOcean)

    • $0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes), against $0.08/GB-mo (EBS gp3)

    Source: digitalocean.com ↗

    AWS8/10

    $0.08/GB-mo (EBS gp3)

    EC2 on-demand, US East (N. Virginia), Linux

    Source: aws.amazon.com ↗

    AWS wins this round on what the published sources say.

PaperspacePaperspace

Side by side

Overall score
6.2
6.3
Best
Price
See price
See price
The cheapest H100
6.0
6.3
The cheapest A100
6.0
6.1
What it costs to get your data out
7.8
6.1
How many places it runs
5.0
6.2
How cheap you can start
8.0
—
Head-to-head findings
The cheapest H100
$5.95
$6.88
The cheapest A100
$1.15 (3-year commitment)
$2.74
What it costs to get your data out
No ingress or egress charges
First 100 GB free, then $0.09 per GB
How many places it runs
3 data centers
39
How cheap you can start
Free GPU notebooks
—
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.5 out of 5
1.3 out of 5
How precisely you are billed
Not stated
Per-second, 60-second minimum
What storage costs per month
$0.10/GiB-mo (Volumes)
$0.08/GB-mo (EBS gp3)
Record
Head-to-head record
2–4
3–4
Head-to-heads won
33 %
43 %
Rounds won
33 %
37 %
Pros
  • single A100 machine, per hour
  • AWS Regions
  • worked out from $41.528 an hour for a p5.48xlarge with eight H100s, US regions
  • worked out from $47.76 an hour for a p5e.48xlarge with eight H200s
Cons
  • $5.95, against $1.99
  • $3.09, against $1.19
  • 3 data centers, against 31 regions
  • Billed by the hour, against Billed by the second
  • $5.19, against $1.99
  • $2.74, against $1.19
  • $5.97, against $3.59
  • First 100 GB free, then $0.09 per GB, against No egress fees
Add a third option to this comparison →

More cloud GPU providers match-ups