Jake Tech Lab

LastPass vs Keeper

LastPass comes out ahead of Keeper on 5 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

LastPassWinner
LastPass
6.4
Fair
5 of 6 rounds
vs
Keeper
Keeper
5.7
Weak
1 of 6 rounds

The verdict

LastPass takes it, 5–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, LastPass takes 5 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose LastPass if…

  • • You want LastPass's edge on what one person pays and what the family plan costs

Choose Keeper if…

  • • You want Keeper's edge on what customers say on trustpilot

Round by round

  1. Round 1What customers say on TrustpilotKeeper wins
    LastPass5/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 934 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.2 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Keeper8/10

    3.2 out of 5

    TrustScore from 3,168 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Keeper wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2What one person paysLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    $3.00/mo, billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Keeper5/10

    $3.58/mo, billed annually

    Unlimited (Personal) / Family, billed annually

    • $3.58/mo, billed annually, against $3.00/mo, billed annually

    Source: keepersecurity.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  3. Round 3What the family plan costsLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    $4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Keeper5/10

    $7.67/mo (5 users), billed annually

    Unlimited (Personal) / Family, billed annually

    • $7.67/mo (5 users), billed annually, against $4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually

    Source: keepersecurity.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4How many people the family plan coversLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    6 users

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Keeper5/10

    5 users

    Unlimited (Personal) / Family, billed annually

    • 5 users, against 6 users

    Source: keepersecurity.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5How much file storage you getLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    Not stated

    LastPass's 1 GB file storage is only in a collapsed comparison table that does not render on screen

    • Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Keeper5/10

    Paid add-on (from $13.99/yr)

    Unlimited (Personal) / Family, billed annually

    • Paid add-on (from $13.99/yr), against 1 GB

    Source: keepersecurity.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6Warnings when your data leaksLastPass wins
    LastPass8/10

    Dark web monitoring

    Premium / Families, billed annually

    Source: lastpass.com ↗

    Keeper5/10

    Paid add-on (BreachWatch $26.99/yr)

    Unlimited (Personal) / Family, billed annually

    • Paid add-on (BreachWatch $26.99/yr), against Dark web monitoring

    Source: keepersecurity.com ↗

    LastPass wins this round on what the published sources say.

LastPassLastPass

Side by side

Overall score
6.4
Best
5.7
Price
See price
See price
What the family plan costs
6.5
5.5
What one person pays
6.0
5.5
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.0
6.3
How many people the family plan covers
7.2
5.4
Trying it before you pay
7.4
7.5
Head-to-head findings
What the family plan costs
$4.00/mo (6 users), billed annually
$7.67/mo (5 users), billed annually
What one person pays
$3.00/mo, billed annually
$3.58/mo, billed annually
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.4 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
How many people the family plan covers
6 users
5 users
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
Free plan (Keeper Free)
Warnings when your data leaks
Dark web monitoring
Paid add-on (BreachWatch $26.99/yr)
How much file storage you get
Not stated
Paid add-on (from $13.99/yr)
What each family member costs
—
—
Record
Head-to-head record
3–3
1–5
Head-to-heads won
50 %
17 %
Rounds won
33 %
16 %
Pros
  • Premium / Families, billed annually
    Cons
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5
    • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $2.99/mo, billed yearly
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.2 out of 5
    • $3.00/mo, billed annually, against $1.65/mo, billed annually
    • 3.2 out of 5, against 4.1 out of 5
    • $3.58/mo, billed annually, against $2.99/mo, billed yearly
    • $7.67/mo (5 users), billed annually, against $4.49/mo (5 users), billed yearly
    • Paid add-on (from $13.99/yr), against 1 GB per user
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More password managers match-ups