Jake Tech Lab

Happen Bank vs Upstart

Upstart comes out ahead of Happen Bank on 4 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Happen Bank
Happen Bank
6.7
Fair
1 of 6 rounds
vs
UpstartWinner
Upstart
7.3
Good
4 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Upstart takes it, 4–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Upstart takes 4 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Happen Bank if…

  • • You want Happen Bank's edge on the highest origination fee

Choose Upstart if…

  • • You want Upstart's edge on how much you can borrow and the credit score it asks for

Round by round

  1. Round 1How much you can borrowUpstart wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • $40,000, against $75,000

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Upstart8/10

    $75,000

    the largest loan

    Source: cnbc.com ↗

    Upstart wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2The highest origination feeHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    8%

    top of the origination fee range

    Source: lendingtree.com ↗

    Upstart5/10

    12%

    top of the origination fee range

    • 12%, against 8%

    Source: cnbc.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3The credit score it asks forUpstart wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • 600, against No minimum

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Upstart8/10

    No minimum

    no minimum score, using other data too

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Upstart wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4What customers say on TrustpilotUpstart wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    4.7 out of 5

    TrustScore from 14,904 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 4.7 out of 5, against 4.9 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Upstart8/10

    4.9 out of 5

    TrustScore from 73,139 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Upstart wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  5. Round 5The smallest loanTie
    Happen Bank7/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • the smallest loan

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Upstart7/10

    $1,000

    the smallest loan

    Source: cnbc.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

  6. Round 6How many Trustpilot reviewsUpstart wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    14,904 reviews

    reviews on Trustpilot, rated 4.7 out of 5

    • 14,904 reviews, against 73,139 reviews

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Upstart8/10

    73,139 reviews

    reviews on Trustpilot, rated 4.9 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Upstart wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

Happen BankHappen Bank

Side by side

Happen BankBest for the smallest loanHappen Bank
Overall score
6.7
7.3
Best
Price
See price
See price
How much you can borrow
5.0
7.0
The smallest loan
7.7
7.8
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.0
8.0
How many Trustpilot reviews
7.0
8.0
The credit score it asks for
6.7
8.0
Head-to-head findings
How much you can borrow
Not stated
$75,000
The smallest loan
Not stated
$1,000
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.7 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
How many Trustpilot reviews
14,904 reviews
73,139 reviews
The credit score it asks for
Not stated
No minimum
The highest origination fee
8%
12%
How fast the money arrives
—
Next business day
Record
Head-to-head record
2–1
4–0–2
Head-to-heads won
67 %
100 %
Rounds won
50 %
69 %
Pros
  • the smallest loan
  • minimum credit score
    Cons
    • $40,000, against $75,000
    • 600, against No minimum
    • 4.7 out of 5, against 4.9 out of 5
    • 14,904 reviews, against 73,139 reviews
    • $75,000, against $100,000
    • 12%, against No origination fee
    • Next business day, against Same day possible
    • 12%, against 8%
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More personal lenders match-ups