Jake Tech Lab

Happen Bank vs Prosper

Happen Bank comes out ahead of Prosper on 4 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Happen BankWinner
Happen Bank
6.7
Fair
4 of 6 rounds
vs
Prosper
Prosper
6.1
Fair
1 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Happen Bank takes it, 4–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Happen Bank takes 4 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Happen Bank if…

  • • You want Happen Bank's edge on the smallest loan and the highest origination fee

Choose Prosper if…

  • • You want Prosper's edge on how much you can borrow

Round by round

  1. Round 1How much you can borrowProsper wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • $40,000, against $50,000

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Prosper8/10

    $50,000

    the largest loan

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Prosper wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2The smallest loanHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • the smallest loan

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Prosper5/10

    $2,000

    the smallest loan

    • $2,000, against $1,000

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3The highest origination feeHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    8%

    top of the origination fee range

    Source: lendingtree.com ↗

    Prosper5/10

    9.99%

    top of the 1% to 9.99% origination fee range

    • 9.99%, against 8%

    Source: cnbc.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4What customers say on TrustpilotHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    4.7 out of 5

    TrustScore from 14,904 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Prosper5/10

    4.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 14,729 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 4.5 out of 5, against 4.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  5. Round 5The credit score it asks forTie
    Happen Bank7/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • minimum credit score

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Prosper7/10

    600

    minimum credit score

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

  6. Round 6How many Trustpilot reviewsHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    14,904 reviews

    reviews on Trustpilot, rated 4.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Prosper5/10

    14,729 reviews

    reviews on Trustpilot, rated 4.5 out of 5

    • 14,729 reviews, against 14,904 reviews

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

Happen BankHappen Bank

Side by side

Overall score
6.7
Best
6.1
Price
See price
See price
How much you can borrow
5.0
6.0
The smallest loan
7.7
6.0
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.0
6.0
How many Trustpilot reviews
7.0
6.0
The credit score it asks for
6.7
6.7
Head-to-head findings
How much you can borrow
Not stated
$50,000
The smallest loan
Not stated
$2,000
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.7 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
How many Trustpilot reviews
14,904 reviews
14,729 reviews
The credit score it asks for
Not stated
600
The highest origination fee
8%
9.99%
How fast the money arrives
—
—
Record
Head-to-head record
2–1
1–2
Head-to-heads won
67 %
33 %
Rounds won
50 %
33 %
Pros
  • the smallest loan
  • minimum credit score
    Cons
    • $40,000, against $75,000
    • 600, against No minimum
    • 4.7 out of 5, against 4.9 out of 5
    • 14,904 reviews, against 73,139 reviews
    • $2,000, against $1,000
    • 9.99%, against 8%
    • 4.5 out of 5, against 4.7 out of 5
    • 14,729 reviews, against 14,904 reviews
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More personal lenders match-ups