Jake Tech Lab

Happen Bank vs LightStream

Happen Bank comes out ahead of LightStream on 4 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Happen BankWinner
Happen Bank
6.7
Fair
4 of 6 rounds
vs
LightStream
LightStream
6.2
Fair
2 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Happen Bank takes it, 4–2 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Happen Bank takes 4 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Happen Bank if…

  • • You want Happen Bank's edge on the smallest loan and the credit score it asks for

Choose LightStream if…

  • • You want LightStream's edge on how much you can borrow and the highest origination fee

Round by round

  1. Round 1How much you can borrowLightStream wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • $40,000, against $100,000

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    LightStream8/10

    $100,000

    the largest loan

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    LightStream wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2The smallest loanHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • the smallest loan

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    LightStream5/10

    $5,000

    the smallest loan

    • $5,000, against $1,000

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3The highest origination feeLightStream wins
    Happen Bank5/10

    8%

    top of the origination fee range

    • 8%, against No origination fee

    Source: lendingtree.com ↗

    LightStream8/10

    No origination fee

    no origination fee

    Source: cnbc.com ↗

    LightStream wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4The credit score it asks forHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    Not stated

    Happen Bank's personal loan page states no loan amount limits or minimum credit score

    • minimum credit score

    Source: globalloanadvisor.com ↗

    LightStream5/10

    Good-to-excellent credit

    no minimum score published; good-to-excellent credit required

    • 660, against 600

    Source: lightstream.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  5. Round 5What customers say on TrustpilotHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    4.7 out of 5

    TrustScore from 14,904 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    LightStream5/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 119 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.5 out of 5, against 4.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  6. Round 6How many Trustpilot reviewsHappen Bank wins
    Happen Bank8/10

    14,904 reviews

    reviews on Trustpilot, rated 4.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    LightStream5/10

    119 reviews

    reviews on Trustpilot, rated 1.5 out of 5

    • 119 reviews, against 14,904 reviews

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Happen Bank wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

Happen BankHappen Bank
LightStreamLightStream

Side by side

Happen BankBest for the smallest loanHappen Bank
LightStreamBest for how much you can borrowLightStream
Overall score
6.7
Best
6.2
Price
See price
See price
How much you can borrow
5.0
7.8
The smallest loan
7.7
5.4
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.0
5.0
How many Trustpilot reviews
7.0
5.0
The credit score it asks for
6.7
5.0
Head-to-head findings
How much you can borrow
Not stated
$100,000
The smallest loan
Not stated
$5,000
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.7 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
How many Trustpilot reviews
14,904 reviews
119 reviews
The credit score it asks for
Not stated
Good-to-excellent credit
The highest origination fee
8%
No origination fee
How fast the money arrives
—
Same day possible
Record
Head-to-head record
2–1
0–4–1
Head-to-heads won
67 %
0 %
Rounds won
50 %
30 %
Pros
  • the smallest loan
  • minimum credit score
    Cons
    • $40,000, against $75,000
    • 600, against No minimum
    • 4.7 out of 5, against 4.9 out of 5
    • 14,904 reviews, against 73,139 reviews
    • 1.5 out of 5, against 4.3 out of 5
    • 119 reviews, against 13,970 reviews
    • $5,000, against $1,000
    • 660, against 600
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More personal lenders match-ups