Jake Tech Lab

Asana vs ClickUp

ClickUp comes out ahead of Asana on 6 of the 7 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Asana
Asana
6.3
Fair
1 of 7 rounds
vs
ClickUpWinner
ClickUp
7.6
Good
6 of 7 rounds

The verdict

ClickUp takes it, 6–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, ClickUp takes 6 of 7 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Asana if…

  • • You want Asana's edge on how many automations you get

Choose ClickUp if…

  • • You want ClickUp's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs

Round by round

  1. Round 1What it costs to startClickUp wins
    Asana5/10

    $10.99

    Starter, per user per month billed annually

    • $10.99, against $7

    Source: asana.com ↗

    ClickUp8/10

    $7

    Unlimited plan, per user per month billed yearly

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2What the top plan costsClickUp wins
    Asana5/10

    $24.99

    Advanced, per user per month billed annually; the highest plan with a published price (Enterprise: contact sales)

    • $24.99, against $12

    Source: asana.com ↗

    ClickUp8/10

    $12

    Business plan, per user per month billed yearly

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3Who picks up when you are stuckClickUp wins
    Asana5/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. The absence is genuine: the Starter plan card and the full feature comparison list no support channel for the Starter plan.

    • Forum and help center, against 24/7 support on the free plan

    Source: asana.com ↗

    ClickUp8/10

    24/7 support on the free plan

    listed for Free Forever; not confirmed for the Unlimited tier

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4What paying annually savesClickUp wins
    Asana5/10

    18%

    annual savings

    • 19% off, against 30% off

    Source: asana.com ↗

    ClickUp8/10

    30% off

    $7 billed annually against $10 billed monthly

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5What customers say on TrustpilotClickUp wins
    Asana5/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 320 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 4.2 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    ClickUp8/10

    4.2 out of 5

    TrustScore from 713 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  6. Round 6How big the free plan isClickUp wins
    Asana5/10

    2 users on Personal

    Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)

    • 2 users on Personal, against Unlimited free members

    Source: asana.com ↗

    ClickUp8/10

    Unlimited free members

    Unlimited, billed yearly (Yearly toggle, default); automations row in 'Complete feature list'

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the published sources say.

  7. Round 7How many automations you getAsana wins
    Asana8/10

    Unlimited automations

    Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)

    Source: asana.com ↗

    ClickUp5/10

    1,000 automation runs a month

    Unlimited, billed yearly (Yearly toggle, default); automations row in 'Complete feature list'

    • 1,000 automation runs a month, against Unlimited automations

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Asana wins this round on what the published sources say.

Side by side

Overall score
6.3
7.6
Best
Price
See price
See price
What it costs to start
5.7
7.7
What the top plan costs
5.9
7.7
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.4
8.0
How much storage you get
7.9
8.0
How many automations you get
8.0
7.0
Head-to-head findings
What it costs to start
$10.99
$7
What the top plan costs
$24.99
$12
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.4 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
How much storage you get
Unlimited (100 MB per file)
Unlimited storage
How many automations you get
Unlimited automations
1,000 automation runs a month
How big the free plan is
2 users on Personal
Unlimited free members
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
Free Forever plan
Who picks up when you are stuck
Not stated
24/7 support on the free plan
Record
Head-to-head record
2–4–3
9–0
Head-to-heads won
33 %
100 %
Rounds won
37 %
84 %
Pros
  • Advanced, per user per month billed annually
  • 60 MB storage, 5 spaces and 100 automation runs
Cons
  • $10.99, against $9
  • $24.99, against $19
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
  • $10.99, against $7
  • 1,000 automation runs a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 4.6 out of 5, against 4.7 out of 5
  • 4.3 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5
  • $7, against $5
Add a third option to this comparison →

More project management tools match-ups