Jake Tech Lab

Asana vs Basecamp

Asana and Basecamp are level on what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Asana
Asana
6.3
Fair
3 of 7 rounds
vs
Basecamp
Basecamp
6.2
Fair
3 of 7 rounds

The verdict

It's a dead heat.

Neither pulls ahead on the published figures and review sites, so the decision is in the details this comparison cannot see. Check the current figures on both pages.

Choose Asana if…

  • • You want Asana's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs

Choose Basecamp if…

  • • You want Basecamp's edge on how big the free plan is and who picks up when you are stuck

Round by round

  1. Round 1How big the free plan isBasecamp wins
    Asana5/10

    2 users

    the free Personal plan is limited to two users

    • 2 users, against 5 users

    Source: asana.com ↗

    Basecamp8/10

    5 users

    the free plan allows five users

    Source: basecamp.com ↗

    Basecamp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2Who picks up when you are stuckBasecamp wins
    Asana5/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. The absence is genuine: the Starter plan card and the full feature comparison list no support channel for the Starter plan.

    • Forum and help center, against 24/7/365 support

    Source: asana.com ↗

    Basecamp8/10

    24/7/365 support (Studio plan)

    listed on the Studio plan ($59/mo), not on Freelancer

    • included on the Freelancer plan

    Source: basecamp.com ↗

    Basecamp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3What customers say on TrustpilotBasecamp wins
    Asana5/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 320 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Basecamp8/10

    2.1 out of 5

    TrustScore from 41 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Basecamp wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4Trying it before you payTie
    Asana7/10

    Free plan

    the Personal plan, free forever, with unlimited tasks and projects

    Source: asana.com ↗

    Basecamp7/10

    Free plan

    one free project for personal use, 1 GB of storage

    Source: basecamp.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

  5. Round 5What it costs to startAsana wins
    Asana8/10

    $10.99/user/mo billed annually

    Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)

    Source: asana.com ↗

    Basecamp5/10

    $25/mo flat, up to 20 users

    Freelancer, flat $25/mo for the whole account, up to 20 users (click the Freelancer tab; Unlimited Edition tab for top price, Free tab for free plan)

    • $25/mo flat, up to 20 users, against $10.99/user/mo billed annually

    Source: basecamp.com ↗

    Asana wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6What the top plan costsAsana wins
    Asana8/10

    Advanced $24.99/user/mo billed annually

    Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)

    Source: asana.com ↗

    Basecamp5/10

    $299/mo flat, billed annually

    Freelancer, flat $25/mo for the whole account, up to 20 users (click the Freelancer tab; Unlimited Edition tab for top price, Free tab for free plan)

    • $299/mo flat, billed annually, against Advanced $24.99/user/mo billed annually

    Source: basecamp.com ↗

    Asana wins this round on what the published sources say.

  7. Round 7How much storage you getAsana wins
    Asana8/10

    Unlimited (100 MB per file)

    Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)

    Source: asana.com ↗

    Basecamp5/10

    5 GB storage

    Freelancer, flat $25/mo for the whole account, up to 20 users (click the Freelancer tab; Unlimited Edition tab for top price, Free tab for free plan)

    • 5 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)

    Source: basecamp.com ↗

    Asana wins this round on what the published sources say.

BasecampBasecamp

Side by side

Overall score
6.3
Best
6.2
Price
See price
See price
What it costs to start
5.7
5.0
What the top plan costs
5.9
5.0
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.4
7.0
How much storage you get
7.9
5.0
How many automations you get
8.0
—
Head-to-head findings
What it costs to start
$10.99
$25/mo flat, up to 20 users
What the top plan costs
$24.99
$299/mo flat, billed annually
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.4 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
How much storage you get
Unlimited (100 MB per file)
5 GB storage
How many automations you get
Unlimited automations
—
How big the free plan is
2 users on Personal
5 users
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
Free plan
Who picks up when you are stuck
Not stated
24/7/365 support (Studio plan)
Record
Head-to-head record
2–4–3
0–5–1
Head-to-heads won
33 %
0 %
Rounds won
37 %
25 %
Pros
  • Advanced, per user per month billed annually
  • included on the Freelancer plan
Cons
  • $10.99, against $9
  • $24.99, against $19
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
  • $10.99, against $7
  • $25/mo flat, up to 20 users, against $10.99/user/mo billed annually
  • $299/mo flat, billed annually, against Advanced $24.99/user/mo billed annually
  • 5 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • $25/mo flat, up to 20 users, against $9/seat/mo billed annually
Add a third option to this comparison →

More project management tools match-ups