Jake Tech Lab

Jira vs Smartsheet

Jira comes out ahead of Smartsheet on 4 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

JiraWinner
Jira
6.4
Fair
4 of 6 rounds
vs
Smartsheet
Smartsheet
5.9
Weak
1 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Jira takes it, 4–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Jira takes 4 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Jira if…

  • • You want Jira's edge on what it costs to start and what the top plan costs

Choose Smartsheet if…

  • • You want Smartsheet's edge on trying it before you pay

Round by round

  1. Round 1What it costs to startJira wins
    Jira8/10

    $7.91

    Standard, per user per month

    Source: capterra.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    $9

    Pro, per user per month

    • $9, against $7.91

    Source: capterra.com ↗

    Jira wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2Trying it before you paySmartsheet wins
    Jira5/10

    14-day Standard trial

    Standard, billed monthly (Monthly, default; page team size shows 300 users)

    • 14-day Standard trial, against 30 days free

    Source: support.atlassian.com ↗

    Smartsheet8/10

    30 days free

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Smartsheet wins this round on what the published sources say.

  3. Round 3What the top plan costsJira wins
    Jira8/10

    Premium $14.54/user/mo billed monthly

    Standard, billed monthly (Monthly, default; page team size shows 300 users)

    Source: atlassian.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Business $19/member/mo billed yearly

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • Business $19/member/mo billed yearly, against Premium $14.54/user/mo billed monthly

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Jira wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4How much storage you getJira wins
    Jira8/10

    250 GB storage

    Standard, billed monthly (Monthly, default; page team size shows 300 users)

    Source: atlassian.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. "20 GB storage" does not appear anywhere on smartsheet.com: the pricing-page attachment-storage row shows Business = 1 TB attachment storage and Enterprise = Unli

    • 20 GB storage, against 250 GB storage

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Jira wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5How many automations you getJira wins
    Jira8/10

    400 steps per user a month

    Standard, billed monthly (Monthly, default; page team size shows 300 users)

    Source: atlassian.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    250 automations a month

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • 250 automations a month, against 400 steps per user a month

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Jira wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6Who picks up when you are stuckTie
    Jira7/10

    9/5 regional support only

    Standard, billed monthly (Monthly, default; page team size shows 300 users)

    Source: atlassian.com ↗

    Smartsheet7/10

    No 24x7 phone support on Pro

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

SmartsheetSmartsheet

Side by side

JiraBest for what the top plan costsJira
Overall score
6.4
Best
5.9
Price
See price
See price
What it costs to start
7.3
6.5
What the top plan costs
7.7
6.2
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.0
5.0
How much storage you get
6.9
6.0
How many automations you get
6.0
6.0
Head-to-head findings
What it costs to start
$7.91/user/mo billed monthly
$9
What the top plan costs
Premium $14.54/user/mo billed monthly
Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.2 out of 5
1.2
How much storage you get
250 GB storage
Not stated
How many automations you get
400 steps per user a month
250 automations a month
How big the free plan is
Free for 10 users
—
Trying it before you pay
14-day Standard trial
30-day free trial
Who picks up when you are stuck
9/5 regional support only
Web ticketing and community
Record
Head-to-head record
5–4
1–4–2
Head-to-heads won
56 %
20 %
Rounds won
47 %
30 %
Pros
  • Standard, per user per month
  • Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
Cons
  • 1.2 out of 5, against 1.4 out of 5
  • Save up to 17% yearly, against Save up to 18% yearly
  • 250 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • 400 steps per user a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 30-day free trial, against Free plan
  • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • 250 automations a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
Add a third option to this comparison →

More project management tools match-ups