Jake Tech Lab

ClickUp vs Smartsheet

ClickUp comes out ahead of Smartsheet on 7 of the 7 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

ClickUpWinner
ClickUp
7.6
Good
7 of 7 rounds
vs
Smartsheet
Smartsheet
5.9
Weak
0 of 7 rounds

The verdict

ClickUp takes it, 7–0 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, ClickUp takes 7 of 7 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose ClickUp if…

  • • You want ClickUp's edge on trying it before you pay and who picks up when you are stuck

Choose Smartsheet if…

  • • You have a reason to pick Smartsheet that is not on this list

Round by round

  1. Round 1Trying it before you payClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    Free Forever plan

    free forever, includes 60MB storage

    • 60 MB storage, 5 spaces and 100 automation runs

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    30-day free trial

    no free plan; 30 days free with no credit card

    • 30-day free trial, against Free Forever plan

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2Who picks up when you are stuckClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    24/7 support on the free plan

    listed for Free Forever; not confirmed for the Unlimited tier

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Web ticketing and community

    help content, community and web ticketing on the entry plan; premium support is an add-on

    • Web ticketing and community, against 24/7 support on the free plan

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3What customers say on TrustpilotClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    4.2 out of 5

    TrustScore from 713 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    1.2

    TrustScore

    • 1.3 out of 5, against 4.2 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4What it costs to startClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    $7/user/mo billed yearly

    Unlimited, billed yearly (Yearly toggle, default); automations row in 'Complete feature list'

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    $9/member/mo billed yearly

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • $9/member/mo billed yearly, against $7/user/mo billed yearly

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5What the top plan costsClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    Business $12/user/mo billed yearly

    Unlimited, billed yearly (Yearly toggle, default); automations row in 'Complete feature list'

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Business $19/member/mo billed yearly

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • Business $19/member/mo billed yearly, against Business $12/user/mo billed yearly

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6How much storage you getClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    Unlimited storage

    Unlimited, billed yearly (Yearly toggle, default); automations row in 'Complete feature list'

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. "20 GB storage" does not appear anywhere on smartsheet.com: the pricing-page attachment-storage row shows Business = 1 TB attachment storage and Enterprise = Unli

    • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited storage

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the published sources say.

  7. Round 7How many automations you getClickUp wins
    ClickUp8/10

    1,000 automation runs a month

    Unlimited, billed yearly (Yearly toggle, default); automations row in 'Complete feature list'

    Source: clickup.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    250 automations a month

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • 250 automations a month, against 1,000 automation runs a month

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    ClickUp wins this round on what the published sources say.

SmartsheetSmartsheet

Side by side

Overall score
7.6
Best
5.9
Price
See price
See price
What it costs to start
7.7
6.5
What the top plan costs
7.7
6.2
What customers say on Trustpilot
8.0
5.0
How much storage you get
8.0
6.0
How many automations you get
7.0
6.0
Head-to-head findings
What it costs to start
$7
$9
What the top plan costs
$12
Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.2 out of 5
1.2
How much storage you get
Unlimited storage
Not stated
How many automations you get
1,000 automation runs a month
250 automations a month
How big the free plan is
Unlimited free members
—
Trying it before you pay
Free Forever plan
30-day free trial
Who picks up when you are stuck
24/7 support on the free plan
Web ticketing and community
Record
Head-to-head record
9–0
1–4–2
Head-to-heads won
100 %
20 %
Rounds won
84 %
30 %
Pros
  • 60 MB storage, 5 spaces and 100 automation runs
  • Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
Cons
  • 1,000 automation runs a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 4.6 out of 5, against 4.7 out of 5
  • 4.3 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5
  • $7, against $5
  • 30-day free trial, against Free plan
  • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • 250 automations a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
Add a third option to this comparison →

More project management tools match-ups