Jake Tech Lab

monday.com vs Smartsheet

monday.com and Smartsheet are level on what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

monday.com
monday.com
6.3
Fair
3 of 6 rounds
vs
Smartsheet
Smartsheet
5.9
Weak
3 of 6 rounds

The verdict

It's a dead heat.

Neither pulls ahead on the published figures and review sites, so the decision is in the details this comparison cannot see. Check the current figures on both pages.

Choose monday.com if…

  • • You want monday.com's edge on trying it before you pay and what customers say on trustpilot

Choose Smartsheet if…

  • • You want Smartsheet's edge on how much storage you get and planning on a timeline

Round by round

  1. Round 1Trying it before you paymonday.com wins
    monday.com8/10

    Free plan

    up to 2 seats, 3 boards and 3 docs

    Source: monday.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    30-day free trial

    no free plan; 30 days free with no credit card

    • 30-day free trial, against Free plan

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    monday.com wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2What customers say on Trustpilotmonday.com wins
    monday.com8/10

    2.1 out of 5

    TrustScore from 3,438 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    1.2

    TrustScore

    • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    monday.com wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3Who picks up when you are stuckmonday.com wins
    monday.com8/10

    24/7 customer support

    Basic, billed annually (Yearly, default; team size 10 seats); rows under 'Complete features list'

    Source: monday.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    No 24x7 phone support on Pro

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • No 24x7 phone support on Pro, against 24/7 customer support

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    monday.com wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4How much storage you getSmartsheet wins
    monday.com5/10

    5 GB storage

    Basic, billed annually (Yearly, default; team size 10 seats); rows under 'Complete features list'

    • 5 GB storage, against 20 GB storage

    Source: monday.com ↗

    Smartsheet8/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. "20 GB storage" does not appear anywhere on smartsheet.com: the pricing-page attachment-storage row shows Business = 1 TB attachment storage and Enterprise = Unli

    • Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Smartsheet wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5Planning on a timelineSmartsheet wins
    monday.com5/10

    Gantt starts on Standard

    Basic, billed annually (Yearly, default; team size 10 seats); rows under 'Complete features list'

    • Gantt starts on Standard, against Gantt view included

    Source: monday.com ↗

    Smartsheet8/10

    Gantt view included

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Smartsheet wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6How many automations you getSmartsheet wins
    monday.com5/10

    Automations start on Standard

    Basic, billed annually (Yearly, default; team size 10 seats); rows under 'Complete features list'

    • Automations start on Standard, against 250 automations a month

    Source: monday.com ↗

    Smartsheet8/10

    250 automations a month

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Smartsheet wins this round on what the published sources say.

monday.commonday.com
SmartsheetSmartsheet

Side by side

Overall score
6.3
Best
5.9
Price
See price
See price
What it costs to start
6.9
6.5
What the top plan costs
6.8
6.2
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.0
5.0
How much storage you get
5.4
6.0
How many automations you get
5.0
6.0
Head-to-head findings
What it costs to start
$9
$9
What the top plan costs
$19
Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.1 out of 5
1.2
How much storage you get
5 GB storage
Not stated
How many automations you get
Automations start on Standard
250 automations a month
How big the free plan is
Up to 2 seats
—
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
30-day free trial
Who picks up when you are stuck
24/7 customer support
Web ticketing and community
Record
Head-to-head record
2–5–2
1–4–2
Head-to-heads won
29 %
20 %
Rounds won
33 %
30 %
Pros
    • Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
    Cons
    • 5 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • Gantt starts on Standard, against Timeline and Gantt views
    • Automations start on Standard, against Unlimited automations
    • $9, against $7
    • 30-day free trial, against Free plan
    • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
    • 250 automations a month, against Unlimited automations
    • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More project management tools match-ups