Asana vs Smartsheet
Asana and Smartsheet are level on what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.
The verdict
It's a dead heat.
Neither pulls ahead on the published figures and review sites, so the decision is in the details this comparison cannot see. Check the current figures on both pages.
Choose Asana if…
- • You want Asana's edge on trying it before you pay and how much storage you get
Choose Smartsheet if…
- • You want Smartsheet's edge on what it costs to start and who picks up when you are stuck
Round by round
- Round 1What it costs to startSmartsheet wins
Smartsheet wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.
- Round 2Trying it before you payAsana winsAsana8/10
Free plan
the Personal plan, free forever, with unlimited tasks and projects
Source: asana.com ↗
Smartsheet5/1030-day free trial
no free plan; 30 days free with no credit card
- 30-day free trial, against Free plan
Source: smartsheet.com ↗
Asana wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 3Who picks up when you are stuckSmartsheet winsAsana5/10
Not stated
Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. The absence is genuine: the Starter plan card and the full feature comparison list no support channel for the Starter plan.
- Forum and help center, against Web ticketing and community
Source: asana.com ↗
Smartsheet8/10Web ticketing and community
help content, community and web ticketing on the entry plan; premium support is an add-on
Source: smartsheet.com ↗
Smartsheet wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 4What the top plan costsSmartsheet winsAsana5/10
Advanced $24.99/user/mo billed annually
Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)
- Advanced $24.99/user/mo billed annually, against Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
Source: asana.com ↗
Smartsheet8/10Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
Source: smartsheet.com ↗
Smartsheet wins this round on what the published sources say.
- Round 5How much storage you getAsana winsAsana8/10
Unlimited (100 MB per file)
Starter, billed annually (Yearly toggle, default)
Source: asana.com ↗
Smartsheet5/10Not stated
Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. "20 GB storage" does not appear anywhere on smartsheet.com: the pricing-page attachment-storage row shows Business = 1 TB attachment storage and Enterprise = Unli
- 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
Source: smartsheet.com ↗
Asana wins this round on what the published sources say.
- Round 6How many automations you getAsana winsSmartsheet5/10
250 automations a month
Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
- 250 automations a month, against Unlimited automations
Source: smartsheet.com ↗
Asana wins this round on what the published sources say.

