Jake Tech Lab

Shift4 vs TouchBistro

TouchBistro comes out ahead of Shift4 on 5 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

Shift4
Shift4
6.1
Fair
0 of 6 rounds
vs
TouchBistroWinner
TouchBistro
6.6
Fair
5 of 6 rounds

The verdict

TouchBistro takes it, 5–0 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, TouchBistro takes 5 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Shift4 if…

  • • You have a reason to pick Shift4 that is not on this list

Choose TouchBistro if…

  • • You want TouchBistro's edge on what the software costs and what an independent review scored it

Round by round

  1. Round 1What the software costsTouchBistro wins
    Shift45/10

    $29.99/month

    "Big Tech. Small Price." panel; "GET STARTED FOR $0" button

    • $99, against $69

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    TouchBistro8/10

    $69

    Point of Sale, starting at per month

    Source: touchbistro.com ↗

    TouchBistro wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2What an independent review scored itTouchBistro wins
    Shift45/10

    6 out of 10

    POSUSA expert score, 2026 review

    • 6 out of 10, against 8 out of 10

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    TouchBistro8/10

    8 out of 10

    POSUSA expert score, 2026 review

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    TouchBistro wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3How long you are locked inTouchBistro wins
    Shift45/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site.

    • 3 years, against 1 year

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    TouchBistro8/10

    variable Initial Term per Sales Quote, auto-renews for an equivalent period

    TouchBistro Merchant Terms of Use, Section 21

    • annual contracts that auto-renew, no month-to-month

    Source: touchbistro.com ↗

    TouchBistro wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4What reviewers sayTouchBistro wins
    Shift45/10

    3.6 out of 5

    average rating from 323 reviews on Capterra

    • 3.6 out of 5, against 3.8 out of 5

    Source: capterra.com ↗

    TouchBistro8/10

    3.8 out of 5

    average rating from 414 reviews on Capterra

    Source: capterra.com ↗

    TouchBistro wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  5. Round 5How easy it is to useTouchBistro wins
    Shift45/10

    3.7 out of 5

    ease-of-use rating from Capterra reviewers

    • 3.7 out of 5, against 4 out of 5

    Source: capterra.com ↗

    TouchBistro8/10

    4 out of 5

    ease-of-use rating from Capterra reviewers

    Source: capterra.com ↗

    TouchBistro wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  6. Round 6What customers say on TrustpilotTie
    Shift47/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 450 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    TouchBistro7/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 349 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

TouchBistroTouchBistro

Side by side

Overall score
6.1
6.6
Best
Price
See price
See price
What the software costs
5.9
6.3
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.6
5.7
Who picks up when the till is down
7.4
7.3
How long you are locked in
5.0
7.0
What it costs to get a card reader
7.8
—
Head-to-head findings
What the software costs
$29.99/month
$69
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.4 out of 5
1.5 out of 5
Who picks up when the till is down
24/7/365 support
24/7 support
How long you are locked in
Not stated
variable Initial Term per Sales Quote, auto-renews for an equivalent period
What it costs to get a card reader
$0 upfront (reader in bundle)
—
What the top plan costs
—
Essentials Bundle from $119/mo
What each card sale costs
2.75% + 15¢ standard rate
—
Selling when the internet drops
Takes cards offline
Offline payments
Record
Head-to-head record
1–5–1
2–3–2
Head-to-heads won
17 %
40 %
Rounds won
21 %
33 %
Pros
  • the cheapest plan, per month
  • annual contracts that auto-renew, no month-to-month
Cons
  • $99, against $0
  • 3 years, against No contract
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
  • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 15¢ in person
  • $69, against $0
  • 1 year, against No contract
  • 1.5 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
  • Inventory is a paid add-on, against Inventory tracking in Free plan
Add a third option to this comparison →

More POS systems match-ups