Jake Tech Lab

Toast vs Shift4

Toast comes out ahead of Shift4 on 3 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

ToastWinner
Toast
7.2
Good
3 of 6 rounds
vs
Shift4
Shift4
6.1
Fair
0 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Toast takes it, 3–0 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Toast takes 3 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Toast if…

  • • You want Toast's edge on how long you are locked in and what customers say on trustpilot

Choose Shift4 if…

  • • You have a reason to pick Shift4 that is not on this list

Round by round

  1. Round 1How long you are locked inToast wins
    Toast8/10

    2 to 3 years

    auto-renewing, with early termination fees; the low end is used

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site.

    • 3 years, against 2 to 3 years

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    Toast wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2What customers say on TrustpilotToast wins
    Toast8/10

    2.7 out of 5

    TrustScore from 1,489 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 450 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 2.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Toast wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3What the software costsToast wins
    Toast8/10

    Starter Kit from $0/mo

    Starter Kit (Pay-as-you-Go), restaurant

    Source: pos.toasttab.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    $29.99/mo incl. hardware

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    • $29.99/mo incl. hardware, against Starter Kit from $0/mo

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Toast wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4What it costs to get a card readerTie
    Toast7/10

    $0 upfront for first device

    Starter Kit (Pay-as-you-Go), restaurant

    Source: pos.toasttab.com ↗

    Shift47/10

    $0 upfront (reader in bundle)

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

  5. Round 5Who picks up when the till is downTie
    Toast7/10

    24/7/365 support included

    Starter Kit (Pay-as-you-Go), restaurant

    Source: pos.toasttab.com ↗

    Shift47/10

    24/7/365 support

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

  6. Round 6Selling when the internet dropsTie
    Toast7/10

    Offline mode takes cards

    Starter Kit (Pay-as-you-Go), restaurant

    Source: pos.toasttab.com ↗

    Shift47/10

    Takes cards offline

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Nothing to separate them here.

Side by side

Overall score
7.2
Best
6.1
Price
See price
See price
What the software costs
7.2
5.9
What customers say on Trustpilot
6.7
5.6
Who picks up when the till is down
7.4
7.4
How long you are locked in
5.8
5.0
What it costs to get a card reader
7.8
7.8
Head-to-head findings
What the software costs
Starter Kit from $0/mo
$29.99/month
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.7 out of 5
1.4 out of 5
Who picks up when the till is down
24/7 support
24/7/365 support
How long you are locked in
2 to 3 years
Not stated
What it costs to get a card reader
$0 upfront for first device
$0 upfront (reader in bundle)
What the top plan costs
Point of Sale from $69/mo
—
What each card sale costs
—
2.75% + 15¢ standard rate
Selling when the internet drops
Offline mode takes cards
Takes cards offline
Record
Head-to-head record
9–0
1–5–1
Head-to-heads won
100 %
17 %
Rounds won
58 %
21 %
Pros
    • the cheapest plan, per month
    Cons
    • 2 to 3 years, against No contract
    • 2.7 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
    • 2-year agreement (Pay-as-you-Go), against Cancel anytime
    • 2 to 3 years, against 12 months
    • $99, against $0
    • 3 years, against No contract
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
    • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 15¢ in person
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More POS systems match-ups