Jake Tech Lab

Square vs Shift4

Square comes out ahead of Shift4 on 4 of the 6 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

SquareWinner
Square
6.8
Fair
4 of 6 rounds
vs
Shift4
Shift4
6.1
Fair
2 of 6 rounds

The verdict

Square takes it, 4–2 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Square takes 4 of 6 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Square if…

  • • You want Square's edge on what the software costs and how long you are locked in

Choose Shift4 if…

  • • You want Shift4's edge on what it costs to get a card reader and who picks up when the till is down

Round by round

  1. Round 1What the software costsSquare wins
    Square8/10

    $0

    the free plan, software only

    Source: squareup.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    $29.99/month

    "Big Tech. Small Price." panel; "GET STARTED FOR $0" button

    • $99, against $0

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Square wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2How long you are locked inSquare wins
    Square8/10

    No contract

    month-to-month, cancel anytime

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site.

    • 3 years, against No contract

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    Square wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3What customers say on TrustpilotSquare wins
    Square8/10

    3.7 out of 5

    TrustScore from 7,486 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 450 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Square wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4What each card sale costsSquare wins
    Square8/10

    2.6% + 15¢ in person

    Square Free ($0/mo per location); trial = Square Plus

    Source: squareup.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    2.75% + 15¢ standard rate

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 15¢ in person

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Square wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5What it costs to get a card readerShift4 wins
    Square5/10

    Reader from $59

    Square Free ($0/mo per location); trial = Square Plus

    • Reader from $59, against $0 upfront (reader in bundle)

    Source: squareup.com ↗

    Shift48/10

    $0 upfront (reader in bundle)

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Shift4 wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6Who picks up when the till is downShift4 wins
    Square5/10

    Mon-Fri 6am-6pm PT (24/7=Premium)

    Square Free ($0/mo per location); trial = Square Plus

    • Mon-Fri 6am-6pm PT (24/7=Premium), against 24/7/365 support

    Source: squareup.com ↗

    Shift48/10

    24/7/365 support

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Shift4 wins this round on what the published sources say.

Side by side

SquareBest for what the software costsSquare
Overall score
6.8
Best
6.1
Price
See price
See price
What the software costs
7.8
5.9
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.3
5.6
Who picks up when the till is down
5.2
7.4
How long you are locked in
8.0
5.0
What it costs to get a card reader
5.9
7.8
Head-to-head findings
What the software costs
$0/mo (Square Free)
$29.99/month
What customers say on Trustpilot
3.7 out of 5
1.4 out of 5
Who picks up when the till is down
weekday hours on the free plan
24/7/365 support
How long you are locked in
No contract
Not stated
What it costs to get a card reader
Reader from $59
$0 upfront (reader in bundle)
What the top plan costs
Premium $149/mo
—
What each card sale costs
2.6% + 15¢
2.75% + 15¢ standard rate
Selling when the internet drops
Offline payments on every plan
Takes cards offline
Record
Head-to-head record
6–3
1–5–1
Head-to-heads won
67 %
17 %
Rounds won
53 %
21 %
Pros
  • Square Free ($0/mo per location); trial = Square Plus
  • in-person card sale
  • the cheapest plan, per month
Cons
  • weekday hours on the free plan, against 24/7 support
  • Reader from $59, against $0 upfront for first device
  • Premium $149/mo, against Point of Sale from $69/mo
  • weekday hours on the free plan, against 24/7 phone support
  • $99, against $0
  • 3 years, against No contract
  • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
  • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 15¢ in person
Add a third option to this comparison →

More POS systems match-ups