Jake Tech Lab

Trello vs Smartsheet

Trello comes out ahead of Smartsheet on 6 of the 7 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

TrelloWinner
Trello
6.9
Fair
6 of 7 rounds
vs
Smartsheet
Smartsheet
5.9
Weak
1 of 7 rounds

The verdict

Trello takes it, 6–1 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Trello takes 6 of 7 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose Trello if…

  • • You want Trello's edge on trying it before you pay and what customers say on trustpilot

Choose Smartsheet if…

  • • You want Smartsheet's edge on planning on a timeline

Round by round

  1. Round 1Trying it before you payTrello wins
    Trello8/10

    Free plan

    up to 10 boards per Workspace

    • up to 10 collaborators and 10 boards per workspace

    Source: trello.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    30-day free trial

    no free plan; 30 days free with no credit card

    • 30-day free trial, against Free plan

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Trello wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2What customers say on TrustpilotTrello wins
    Trello8/10

    2.2 out of 5

    TrustScore from 226 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    1.2

    TrustScore on Trustpilot

    • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.2 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Trello wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3What it costs to startTrello wins
    Trello8/10

    $5/user/mo billed annually

    Standard, billed annually (default; $6 billed monthly)

    Source: trello.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    $9/member/mo billed yearly

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • $9/member/mo billed yearly, against $5/user/mo billed annually

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Trello wins this round on what the published sources say.

  4. Round 4What the top plan costsTrello wins
    Trello8/10

    Enterprise $17.50/user/mo billed annually

    Standard, billed annually (default; $6 billed monthly)

    Source: trello.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Business $19/member/mo billed yearly

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • Business $19/member/mo billed yearly, against Enterprise $17.50/user/mo billed annually

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Trello wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5How much storage you getTrello wins
    Trello8/10

    Unlimited (250 MB per file)

    Standard, billed annually (default; $6 billed monthly)

    Source: trello.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site. "20 GB storage" does not appear anywhere on smartsheet.com: the pricing-page attachment-storage row shows Business = 1 TB attachment storage and Enterprise = Unli

    • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (250 MB per file)

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Trello wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6Planning on a timelineSmartsheet wins
    Trello5/10

    Timeline is Premium-only

    Standard, billed annually (default; $6 billed monthly)

    • Timeline is Premium-only, against Gantt view included

    Source: trello.com ↗

    Smartsheet8/10

    Gantt view included

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Smartsheet wins this round on what the published sources say.

  7. Round 7How many automations you getTrello wins
    Trello8/10

    1,000 command runs a month

    Standard, billed annually (default; $6 billed monthly)

    Source: trello.com ↗

    Smartsheet5/10

    250 automations a month

    Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'

    • 250 automations a month, against 1,000 command runs a month

    Source: smartsheet.com ↗

    Trello wins this round on what the published sources say.

SmartsheetSmartsheet

Side by side

TrelloBest for what it costs to startTrello
Overall score
6.9
Best
5.9
Price
See price
See price
What it costs to start
8.0
6.5
What the top plan costs
7.7
6.2
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.0
5.0
How much storage you get
8.0
6.0
How many automations you get
7.0
6.0
Head-to-head findings
What it costs to start
$5
$9
What the top plan costs
$10
Business $19/member/mo billed yearly
What customers say on Trustpilot
2.2 out of 5
1.2
How much storage you get
Unlimited (250 MB per file)
Not stated
How many automations you get
1,000 command runs a month
250 automations a month
How big the free plan is
10 collaborators
—
Trying it before you pay
Free plan
30-day free trial
Who picks up when you are stuck
Local business hours support
Web ticketing and community
Record
Head-to-head record
7–1–1
1–4–2
Head-to-heads won
88 %
20 %
Rounds won
59 %
30 %
Pros
  • up to 10 collaborators and 10 boards per workspace
  • Premium, per user per month billed annually ($12.50 monthly)
  • Pro, billed yearly (Yearly pricing, default; 1-10 Members); storage/support rows under 'Compare plans'
Cons
  • Timeline is Premium-only, against Timeline and Gantt views
  • 1,000 command runs a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 4.3 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5
  • Local business hours support, against 24/7 customer support
  • 30-day free trial, against Free plan
  • 20 GB storage, against Unlimited (100 MB per file)
  • 250 automations a month, against Unlimited automations
  • 1.3 out of 5, against 2.1 out of 5
Add a third option to this comparison →

More project management tools match-ups