Jake Tech Lab

HubSpot vs Close

HubSpot comes out ahead of Close on 5 of the 8 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

HubSpotWinner
HubSpot
6.7
Fair
5 of 8 rounds
vs
Close
Close
6.4
Fair
3 of 8 rounds

The verdict

HubSpot takes it, 5–3 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, HubSpot takes 5 of 8 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose HubSpot if…

  • • You want HubSpot's edge on trying it before you pay and what automation costs

Choose Close if…

  • • You want Close's edge on what it costs to start and calling from inside the crm

Round by round

  1. Round 1What it costs to startClose wins
    HubSpot5/10

    $20

    Starter, per seat per month at list price (new customers are offered a deep first-year discount)

    • $20, against $9

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Close8/10

    $9

    Solo, per user per month billed annually ($19 month to month)

    Source: close.com ↗

    Close wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2Trying it before you payHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    Free CRM

    Free plan for up to 2 users, no credit card

    • free with no expiry, limited to two users and 1,000 contacts

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Close5/10

    14-day free trial

    a free trial, no free plan

    • 14-day free trial, against Free CRM

    Source: close.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3What automation costsHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    US$ 800/mês

    Professional (compromisso anual)

    • Professional, where full workflows begin

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Close5/10

    $99

    Growth, where workflows are unlocked

    • $99, against $50

    Source: close.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4How well it connectsHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    Over 2,000

    apps and web services

    • apps in the HubSpot App Marketplace

    Source: ecosystem.hubspot.com ↗

    Close5/10

    100+ integrations

    native, no-code and Zapier integrations

    • 100+ integrations, against 1,500+ integrations

    Source: close.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5Calling from inside the CRMClose wins
    HubSpot5/10

    Calling minutes on Starter

    Starter adds calling minutes per account per month

    • Calling minutes on Starter, against Calling, email and SMS built in

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Close8/10

    Calling, email and SMS built in

    included from the cheapest plan

    Source: close.com ↗

    Close wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  6. Round 6What automation adds to the billHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    +$70

    Sales Hub Professional (full workflows: 'Up to 300 fully customizable workflows') $90 vs Starter $20 per seat/month, billed annually

    • from $20 to $50 per user per month

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Close5/10

    +$90

    Growth (automation) $99 vs Solo $9 per user/month, annual

    • +$90, against +$30

    Source: close.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  7. Round 7What customers say on TrustpilotClose wins
    HubSpot5/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 1,173 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.5 out of 5, against 4.5 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Close8/10

    4.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 73 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Close wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  8. Round 8How many custom fields you getHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    Not stated

    HubSpot's pages give no visible custom-property limit (only a hover tooltip in the product catalog)

    • Sales Hub Starter

    Source: legal.hubspot.com ↗

    Close5/10

    250 custom fields

    Solo

    • 250 custom fields, against 1,000 custom properties/object

    Source: close.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the published sources say.

Side by side

CloseBest for what it costs to startClose
Overall score
6.7
Best
6.4
Price
See price
See price
What automation adds to the bill
6.1
5.0
What it costs to start
5.8
7.9
What automation costs
6.3
5.0
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.8
8.0
Trying it before you pay
8.0
5.7
Head-to-head findings
What automation adds to the bill
+$70
+$90
What it costs to start
$20
$9
What automation costs
$90/mo/seat
$99
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Trying it before you pay
Free CRM
14-day free trial
How well it connects
2,000+
100+ integrations
Who picks up when you are stuck
24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter
—
Emailing many contacts at once
Not stated
No bulk email
Record
Head-to-head record
3–2–3
1–5–1
Head-to-heads won
60 %
17 %
Rounds won
55 %
43 %
Pros
  • free with no expiry, limited to two users and 1,000 contacts
  • Professional, where full workflows begin
  • from $20 to $50 per user per month
  • apps in the HubSpot App Marketplace
  • Solo
Cons
  • 1,500+ integrations, against 9,000+ apps
  • $20, against $14
  • $50, against $0
  • 24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter, against Phone 8h x 5 days, chat 24 x 5
  • 14-day free trial, against 30-day free trial
  • 100+ integrations, against 9,000+ apps
  • +$90, against +$75
  • No bulk email, against Mass email included
Add a third option to this comparison →

More CRMs match-ups