Jake Tech Lab

HubSpot vs Zoho

Zoho comes out ahead of HubSpot on 5 of the 7 things that decide this, going by what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

HubSpot
HubSpot
6.7
Fair
2 of 7 rounds
vs
ZohoWinner
Zoho
7.2
Good
5 of 7 rounds

The verdict

Zoho takes it, 5–2 on rounds.

On the published figures and the independent review sites, Zoho takes 5 of 7 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.

Choose HubSpot if…

  • • You want HubSpot's edge on how well it connects and how many custom fields you get

Choose Zoho if…

  • • You want Zoho's edge on what it costs to start and what automation costs

Round by round

  1. Round 1What it costs to startZoho wins
    HubSpot5/10

    $20

    Starter, per seat per month at list price (new customers are offered a deep first-year discount)

    • $20, against $14

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Zoho8/10

    $14

    Standard, per user per month billed annually

    Source: zoho.com ↗

    Zoho wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2What automation costsZoho wins
    HubSpot5/10

    $90/mo/seat

    Professional plan price

    • $50, against $0

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Zoho8/10

    $0

    the free edition already includes five workflow rules

    Source: zoho.com ↗

    Zoho wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3Who picks up when you are stuckZoho wins
    HubSpot5/10

    24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter

    phone support is limited to Professional and Enterprise

    • 24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter, against Phone 8h x 5 days, chat 24 x 5

    Source: community.hubspot.com ↗

    Zoho8/10

    8 hours (Monday - Friday)

    Chat Support

    • default support on every paid edition

    Source: zoho.com ↗

    Zoho wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4How well it connectsHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    2,000+

    apps

    • apps in the HubSpot App Marketplace

    Source: ecosystem.hubspot.com ↗

    Zoho5/10

    900+ integrations

    Zoho CRM integrations in the Zoho Marketplace

    • 900+ integrations, against 1,500+ integrations

    Source: zoho.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5What automation adds to the billZoho wins
    HubSpot5/10

    +$70

    Sales Hub Professional (full workflows: 'Up to 300 fully customizable workflows') $90 vs Starter $20 per seat/month, billed annually

    • +$30, against $0 extra

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Zoho8/10

    $0 extra

    workflow automation is already in the cheapest plan

    Source: zoho.com ↗

    Zoho wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  6. Round 6What customers say on TrustpilotZoho wins
    HubSpot5/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 1,173 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.5 out of 5, against 3.9 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Zoho8/10

    3.9 out of 5

    TrustScore from 6,138 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Zoho wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  7. Round 7How many custom fields you getHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    Not stated

    HubSpot's pages give no visible custom-property limit (only a hover tooltip in the product catalog)

    • Sales Hub Starter

    Source: legal.hubspot.com ↗

    Zoho5/10

    10 custom fields per module

    Standard

    • 10 custom fields per module, against 1,000 custom properties/object

    Source: zoho.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the published sources say.

Side by side

Overall score
6.7
7.2
Best
Price
See price
See price
What automation adds to the bill
6.1
8.0
What it costs to start
5.8
6.2
What automation costs
6.3
8.0
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.8
6.7
Trying it before you pay
8.0
7.8
Head-to-head findings
What automation adds to the bill
+$70
$0 extra
What it costs to start
$20
$14
What automation costs
$90/mo/seat
$0
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.5 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Trying it before you pay
Free CRM
Free edition
How well it connects
2,000+
900+ integrations
Who picks up when you are stuck
24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter
8 hours (Monday - Friday)
Emailing many contacts at once
Not stated
Mass email included
Record
Head-to-head record
3–2–3
7–0
Head-to-heads won
60 %
100 %
Rounds won
55 %
74 %
Pros
  • free with no expiry, limited to two users and 1,000 contacts
  • Professional, where full workflows begin
  • from $20 to $50 per user per month
  • apps in the HubSpot App Marketplace
  • default support on every paid edition
Cons
  • 1,500+ integrations, against 9,000+ apps
  • $20, against $14
  • $50, against $0
  • 24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter, against Phone 8h x 5 days, chat 24 x 5
  • 900+ integrations, against 9,000+ apps
  • 900+ integrations, against 1,500+ integrations
  • 10 custom fields per module, against 1,000 custom properties/object
  • 3.9 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5
Add a third option to this comparison →

More CRMs match-ups