Jake Tech Lab

HubSpot vs Pipedrive

HubSpot and Pipedrive are level on what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

HubSpot
HubSpot
6.7
Fair
4 of 8 rounds
vs
Pipedrive
Pipedrive
6.5
Fair
4 of 8 rounds

The verdict

It's a dead heat.

Neither pulls ahead on the published figures and review sites, so the decision is in the details this comparison cannot see. Check the current figures on both pages.

Choose HubSpot if…

  • • You want HubSpot's edge on trying it before you pay and who picks up when you are stuck

Choose Pipedrive if…

  • • You want Pipedrive's edge on what it costs to start and what automation costs

Round by round

  1. Round 1What it costs to startPipedrive wins
    HubSpot5/10

    $20

    Starter, per seat per month at list price (new customers are offered a deep first-year discount)

    • $20, against $14

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive8/10

    $14

    Lite, per user per month billed annually

    Source: pipedrive.com ↗

    Pipedrive wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  2. Round 2Trying it before you payHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    Free CRM

    Free plan for up to 2 users, no credit card

    • free with no expiry, limited to two users and 1,000 contacts

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive5/10

    14-day free trial

    no credit card required, no free plan

    • 14-day free trial, against Free CRM

    Source: pipedrive.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  3. Round 3What automation costsPipedrive wins
    HubSpot5/10

    $90/mo/seat

    Professional plan pricing

    • $50, against $39

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive8/10

    $39

    Growth, which adds automations and nurturing sequences

    Source: pipedrive.com ↗

    Pipedrive wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  4. Round 4Who picks up when you are stuckHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter

    phone support is limited to Professional and Enterprise

    Source: community.hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive5/10

    24/7 live chat support for all users

    All plans incl. Lite; phone on Premium or Ultimate only

    • Live chat in business hours, against 24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter

    Source: support.pipedrive.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  5. Round 5How well it connectsHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    2,000+

    apps

    • apps in the HubSpot App Marketplace

    Source: ecosystem.hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive5/10

    400+

    apps

    • 500+ integrations, against 1,500+ integrations

    Source: pipedrive.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  6. Round 6What automation adds to the billPipedrive wins
    HubSpot5/10

    +$70

    Sales Hub Professional (full workflows: 'Up to 300 fully customizable workflows') $90 vs Starter $20 per seat/month, billed annually

    • +$30, against +$25

    Source: hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive8/10

    +$25

    from $14 to $39 per user per month

    Source: pipedrive.com ↗

    Pipedrive wins this round on what the company itself publishes.

  7. Round 7What customers say on TrustpilotPipedrive wins
    HubSpot5/10

    1.5 out of 5

    TrustScore from 1,173 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.5 out of 5, against 4.4 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Pipedrive8/10

    4.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 3,457 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Pipedrive wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  8. Round 8How many custom fields you getHubSpot wins
    HubSpot8/10

    Not stated

    HubSpot's pages give no visible custom-property limit (only a hover tooltip in the product catalog)

    • Sales Hub Starter

    Source: legal.hubspot.com ↗

    Pipedrive5/10

    30 custom fields

    Lite

    • 30 custom fields, against 1,000 custom properties/object

    Source: support.pipedrive.com ↗

    HubSpot wins this round on what the published sources say.

PipedrivePipedrive

Side by side

Overall score
6.7
Best
6.5
Price
See price
See price
What automation adds to the bill
6.1
6.7
What it costs to start
5.8
6.3
What automation costs
6.3
6.7
What customers say on Trustpilot
5.8
8.0
Trying it before you pay
8.0
5.7
Head-to-head findings
What automation adds to the bill
+$70
+$25
What it costs to start
$20
$14
What automation costs
$90/mo/seat
$39
What customers say on Trustpilot
1.5 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Trying it before you pay
Free CRM
14-day free trial
How well it connects
2,000+
400+
Who picks up when you are stuck
24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter
24/7 live chat support for all users
Emailing many contacts at once
Not stated
No group emailing
Record
Head-to-head record
3–2–3
2–3–2
Head-to-heads won
60 %
40 %
Rounds won
55 %
44 %
Pros
  • free with no expiry, limited to two users and 1,000 contacts
  • Professional, where full workflows begin
  • from $20 to $50 per user per month
  • apps in the HubSpot App Marketplace
  • apps in the Pipedrive Marketplace
  • Lite
  • from $14 to $39 per user per month
  • no phone on Lite; phone starts on Premium
Cons
  • 1,500+ integrations, against 9,000+ apps
  • $20, against $14
  • $50, against $0
  • 24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter, against Phone 8h x 5 days, chat 24 x 5
  • 14-day free trial, against 30-day free trial
  • 500+ integrations, against 9,000+ apps
  • No group emailing, against Mass email included
  • No email templates, against Email templates included
Add a third option to this comparison →

More CRMs match-ups