The verdict
HubSpot takes it, 6–2 on rounds.
On the published figures and the independent review sites, HubSpot takes 6 of 8 rounds. Treat that as a starting point and check the current figures on both pages, because prices and plans move.
Choose HubSpot if…
- • You want HubSpot's edge on trying it before you pay and what automation costs
Choose Copper if…
- • You want Copper's edge on what it costs to start and what customers say on trustpilot
Round by round
- Round 1What it costs to startCopper winsHubSpot5/10
$20
Starter, per seat per month at list price (new customers are offered a deep first-year discount)
- $20, against $9
Source: hubspot.com ↗
Copper8/10$23
Basic
- Starter, per seat per month billed annually ($12 month to month)
Source: copper.com ↗
Copper wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 2Trying it before you payHubSpot winsHubSpot8/10
Free CRM
Free plan for up to 2 users, no credit card
- free with no expiry, limited to two users and 1,000 contacts
Source: hubspot.com ↗
Copper5/1014-day free trial
no credit card required, no free plan
- 14-day free trial, against Free CRM
Source: copper.com ↗
HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 3What automation costsHubSpot wins
HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 4Who picks up when you are stuckHubSpot winsHubSpot8/10
24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter
phone support is limited to Professional and Enterprise
Source: community.hubspot.com ↗
Copper5/10Live chat, weekdays 4am to 11pm ET
the Starter tier includes live chat support
- Live chat, weekdays 4am to 11pm ET, against 24/7 chat and email, no phone on Starter
Source: support.copper.com ↗
HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 5What automation adds to the billHubSpot winsHubSpot8/10
+$70
Sales Hub Professional (full workflows: 'Up to 300 fully customizable workflows') $90 vs Starter $20 per seat/month, billed annually
- from $20 to $50 per user per month
Source: hubspot.com ↗
Copper5/10+$36
Professional (automation) $59 vs Basic $23 per seat/month, paid annually
- +$50, against +$30
Source: copper.com ↗
HubSpot wins this round on what the company itself publishes.
- Round 6What customers say on TrustpilotCopper winsHubSpot5/10
1.5 out of 5
TrustScore from 1,173 reviews on Trustpilot
- 1.5 out of 5, against 4.3 out of 5
Source: trustpilot.com ↗
Copper wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.
- Round 7How many custom fields you getHubSpot winsHubSpot8/10
Not stated
HubSpot's pages give no visible custom-property limit (only a hover tooltip in the product catalog)
- Sales Hub Starter
Source: legal.hubspot.com ↗
Copper5/1025 custom fields
Basic
- 25 custom fields, against 1,000 custom properties/object
Source: copper.com ↗
HubSpot wins this round on what the published sources say.
- Round 8Emailing many contacts at onceHubSpot winsHubSpot8/10
Not stated
No 2,000/month email-send limit for Sales Hub Starter. The 2,000 figure appears only under Free Tools > Email marketing ('2,000 email sends per calendar month, with HubSpot branding'). Sales Hub Start
- Sales Hub Starter
Source: legal.hubspot.com ↗
HubSpot wins this round on what the published sources say.

