Jake Tech Lab

SumUp vs Shift4

SumUp and Shift4 are level on what each company publishes and what independent review sites report. The one that matters for you may be one the leader loses.

SumUp
SumUp
6.6
Fair
3 of 6 rounds
vs
Shift4
Shift4
6.1
Fair
3 of 6 rounds

The verdict

It's a dead heat.

Neither pulls ahead on the published figures and review sites, so the decision is in the details this comparison cannot see. Check the current figures on both pages.

Choose SumUp if…

  • • You want SumUp's edge on how long you are locked in and what customers say on trustpilot

Choose Shift4 if…

  • • You want Shift4's edge on what the software costs and what it costs to get a card reader

Round by round

  1. Round 1What the software costsShift4 wins
    SumUp5/10

    $199

    POS with Connect Plus, per month, on a 12-month subscription

    • $199, against $99

    Source: sumup.com ↗

    Shift48/10

    $29.99/month

    "Big Tech. Small Price." panel; "GET STARTED FOR $0" button

    • the cheapest plan, per month

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Shift4 wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  2. Round 2How long you are locked inSumUp wins
    SumUp8/10

    12 months

    the POS plans need a 12-month subscription

    Source: sumup.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    Not stated

    Verified 2026-10-13 on official site.

    • 3 years, against 12 months

    Source: posusa.com ↗

    SumUp wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  3. Round 3What customers say on TrustpilotSumUp wins
    SumUp8/10

    4.2 out of 5

    TrustScore from 58,696 reviews on Trustpilot

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    1.4 out of 5

    TrustScore from 450 reviews on Trustpilot

    • 1.4 out of 5, against 4.2 out of 5

    Source: trustpilot.com ↗

    SumUp wins this round on independent review-site data, not on its own claims.

  4. Round 4What each card sale costsSumUp wins
    SumUp8/10

    2.6% + 10¢ in person

    Free plan ($0/month, pay per transaction)

    Source: sumup.com ↗

    Shift45/10

    2.75% + 15¢ standard rate

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 10¢ in person

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    SumUp wins this round on what the published sources say.

  5. Round 5What it costs to get a card readerShift4 wins
    SumUp5/10

    SumUp Plus reader $54

    Free plan ($0/month, pay per transaction)

    • SumUp Plus reader $54, against $0 upfront (reader in bundle)

    Source: sumup.com ↗

    Shift48/10

    $0 upfront (reader in bundle)

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Shift4 wins this round on what the published sources say.

  6. Round 6Who picks up when the till is downShift4 wins
    SumUp5/10

    Reader support Mon-Fri 9am-7pm ET

    Free plan ($0/month, pay per transaction)

    • Reader support Mon-Fri 9am-7pm ET, against 24/7/365 support

    Source: sumup.com ↗

    Shift48/10

    24/7/365 support

    Shift4 Dine (ex-Revel/SkyTab) Table-Service Bundle, Standard Pricing (Build Your System)

    Source: dine.shift4.com ↗

    Shift4 wins this round on what the published sources say.

Side by side

SumUpBest for what customers say on trustpilotSumUp
Overall score
6.6
Best
6.1
Price
See price
See price
What the software costs
5.6
5.9
What customers say on Trustpilot
7.9
5.6
Who picks up when the till is down
5.8
7.4
How long you are locked in
6.9
5.0
What it costs to get a card reader
6.6
7.8
Head-to-head findings
What the software costs
$199
$29.99/month
What customers say on Trustpilot
4.2 out of 5
1.4 out of 5
Who picks up when the till is down
phone daily 9am to 9pm ET
24/7/365 support
How long you are locked in
12 months
Not stated
What it costs to get a card reader
SumUp Plus reader $54
$0 upfront (reader in bundle)
What the top plan costs
SumUp POS from $99/mo
—
What each card sale costs
2.6% + 10¢
2.75% + 15¢ standard rate
Selling when the internet drops
Offline mode (Solo reader)
Takes cards offline
Record
Head-to-head record
2–2–5
1–5–1
Head-to-heads won
50 %
17 %
Rounds won
39 %
21 %
Pros
    • the cheapest plan, per month
    Cons
    • $199, against $0
    • 12 months, against No contract
    • phone daily 9am to 9pm ET, against 24/7 support
    • SumUp Plus reader $54, against $0 upfront for first device
    • $99, against $0
    • 3 years, against No contract
    • 1.4 out of 5, against 3.7 out of 5
    • 2.75% + 15¢ standard rate, against 2.6% + 15¢ in person
    Add a third option to this comparison →

    More POS systems match-ups